Sheriff Andy Shock will serve another term. Shock defeated his challenger, Conway Police Department Major Joe Taylor, by about 4,000 votes Tuesday night.

Shock succeeded Sheriff Karl Byrd, who retired in 2012. 

Taylor and Shock both ran as republicans. Since the race didn’t draw a Democratic challenger, the primary decided the position. 

"I am humbled with the support that we have gotten from the citizens of this great county," Shock said. 

"They have sent a clear and concise message that they like what we’ve got going on at FCSO, and I will give all credit to our dedicated employees."

Unofficial but complete totals put the vote at 2,446 to 6,584.

In the other county primary race, Margaret Darter narrowly defeated Marvin Lessmann for the Republican nomination for Faulkner County Clerk during the primary race Tuesday night.

Darter is currently serving as Quorum Court Secretariat and as a Deputy Clerk under Melinda Reynolds in the county clerk’s office. Darter has been employed by the county since 2011.

Darter previously served as a paralegal and legal assistant with the Henry & Henry law firm for 15 years.

Darter will face Democratic nominee Aaron Knight in November.