75 years ago


Edwin L. Dunaway and Miss Ruth Brittain, both of Conway, are members of the University of Arkansas medical school graduating class to receive degrees early next month.

Dunaway is the son of Mr. and Mrs. O.L. Dunaway. Dunaway will intern at the Baptist State hospital.

Miss Britain is a daughter of Dr. A.J. Brittain and a sister of Dr. W.L. Brittain of Conway. Miss Britain will intern at the City hospital in Little Rock.

50 years ago


Winthrop Rockefeller presented a check for $10,000 to Dr. Silas D. Snow, president of Arkansas State Teachers College, at the recent testimonial dinner honoring Dr. Snow at ASTC. The money will be used to insure completion of the new W.C. Ferguson Memorial Chapel. Rockefeller was the main speaker at the dinner.

25 years ago


Darren Woodard, a 1984 graduate of Conway High School, was recently elected president of the student body of Southern Nazarene University of Bethany, Okla. A religion major, Woodard plans to attend the Nazarene Theological Seminary in Kansas City upon graduation in June 1989. Woodard is a son of Stanley and Susan Woodard of Conway.

10 years ago


Three Stuck on a Truck contestants were still at it late Monday night, hoping they could stay healthy and awake long enough to outstick their opponents.

The final three are Jane West, 43, of Msumelle; Jacob McGuire, 20, of Greenbrier; and Kenneth Hoyt, 25, of Conway. They’ve been leaning, hands first, against the big red pickup since noon Friday. The last one standing wins the truck, a 2003 F-150 Ford donated by Smith Ford.

Trey Holland, 27, the fourth member of the Final Four, lasted more than 81 hours in the contest, dropping out after 9 p.m. Monday.