An institution that has success embedded in its core is the Arkansas Military Hall of Fame.

In its short three-year history, the Hall, dedicated to honoring Arkansas military personnel, has brought notoriety to retired Col. Conrad Reynolds, who developed the proposition for the Hall. In its first year in Conway, the Hall, meeting in the Agora building, inducted 15 military heroes; another 15 entered its folds last year.

On November 1, in the Embassy Suites Hotel in Little Rock, an additional 15 outstanding military people will affix their names to the rolls of the Hall.

The Hall is an exclusive assembly. Each applicant must be an Arkansan with impeccable standing in military life and in his or her community. Nominees must have either been born in Arkansas, entered military service from Arkansas, or lived in Arkansas for a minimum of eight years. Additionally, he or she must have received an honorable discharge from the military service, be of good character and have no felony convictions. Posthumous nominations are accepted.

The Hall is a non-profit organization whose objective is to publicly emphasize the honor brought to Arkansas and the nation by the sacrifice of Arkansas veterans and their families.

Up to 15 Arkansas military veterans are inducted into the Hall each year during banquet festivities and awarded the "Hall of Fame Medallion" which recognizes their military service. Of the 15 inductees, up to 10 will be selected exclusively for their valorous service to our country and up to five will be selected for their combined military/civilian service to community, state and nation.

In this latter instance, former governor and U.S. Senator Dale Bumpers won a place in the hall for his military service and his political expertise.

The logo of the medallion represents the organization and its relationship to the state of Arkansas.

The front depicts the Arkansas Hall of Fame arranged around an image of the state of Arkansas as taken from the state flag. The rear of the medallion consists of five military services listed in order of their founding and surrounding the diamond taken from the flag.

The medallion presented at the annual banquet is in the form of the logo with the inductee’s name engraved within the diamond.

Another feature of the Hall is the recognition of the 25 Congressional Medal of Honor recipients from Arkansas, beginning with Roger W. Wheeler, dating from July 21 1861 and honored for his actions in the Civil War.

The last Medal of Honor recipient from Arkansas was Nick Daniel Bacon for his action in Vietnam, dated August 26, 1968.

Supporting Col. Reynolds as members of the Hall’s board of directors are Dennis White, lieutenant colonel U.S. Army Reserve (retired) deputy director; Paul D. Foster, master sergeant U.S. Army retired, secretary; Conrad Carroll, U.S. Air Force veteran, treasurer, The board also includes three board members, and four honorary advisors.