Sugar Bear recruit
gets top honor

Olivia McWilliams, a senior at eStem in Little Rock (girls basketball) and a University of Central Arkansas recruit, Anton Beard, a senior at North Little Rock (boys basketball) and Spencer Cayden Cook, a senior at Cabot (boys bowling) have been named the Wendy’s High School Players of the Year for their respective sports.

There was no selection in girls’ bowling.

McWilliams led eStem to the Class AAA state girls basketball championship and was named the tournament’s most valuable player. She scored more than 1,000 points while averaging 18 points, four steals, six rebounds and three assists per game. She was the first student in eStem history to sign with a Division-I college.

McWilliams was a two-time all-state and All-State Tournament selection. In 2013, she led eStem to the semifinal round of the state.

Beard led North Little Rock to the Class 7A state basketball championship. He was a two-time All-State selection. During his senior year, Beard averaged 20.2 points, 4.3 rebounds, 2.2 assists and 3.8 steals per game

Beard, who signed with the University of Arkansas, was the most valuable player in this year’s state championship game.

Cook, a senior, maintained a 217 bowling average on the season. He led Cabot to the Class 6A-7A state bowling championship while setting a state record with an 842 series, with games of 279, 297 and 266. In those three games he bowled 33 strikes.

Four UALR players
receive suspensions

LITTLE ROCK — Four University of Arkansas-Little Rock baseball players have been suspended for their roles in the baseball brawl Wednesday night in the game between the University of Central Arkansas and the Trojans at Bear Stadium, the UALR athletic department has announced.

Under NCAA guidelines, serving four-game suspensions are junior Drew McCurry, junior Kilgore Gailmard, junior Sam Vogel and senior Travis McDonald.

NLR to host Mid-South Golden Gloves

The Mid-South Golden Gloves boxing tournament will be held Thursday through Saturday, April 10-12, at the North Little Rock Community Center, 2700 Willow.

Champions from Arkansas, Memphis, west Tennessee, middle Tennessee, Louisiana and Mississippi will compete. The winners of the Open Division will advance to the national tournament next month at Las Vegas.

Bouts will begin at 7 p.m. Admission is $8 for adults and $6 for students each night.

For more information, call the community center at 791-8541.