75 years ago


Mrs. Kenneth Mosley entertained her bridge club Wednesday afternoon at the home of Mrs. A.E. Burdick on Caldwell Street. Mrs. James W. Byrd Jr. was awarded the prize for high score. Mrs. Mosley served a dainty salad menu with coffee at the conclusion of the games.

50 years ago


Al Hiegel was elected president of the Conway Optimist Club at its meeting Thursday. He succeeds William J. Dean. Other new officers include Fay Smith and Jack Cornwell, vice presidents, and Tommy Gray, J.S. Mattingly Jr., Herman Kellar and Bob Wallace, board members.

25 years ago


Ten women will compete for the title of Miss Conway at 7 p.m. Saturday in Waldran Auditorium at the University of Central Arkansas.

Participants are: Melissa Chiara, 19, of Little Rock; Marla Davis, 21, of Paris; Heather Irby, 18, of Conway; Jerrie Ann Johnston, 20, of Elaine (Phillips County); Dana Lynn Moody, 20, of Desha (Independence County); Janice Pilkington, 24, of Mayflower; Mary Elizabeth Reed, 20, of Rison (Cleveland County); Nancy Spatz, 21, of Conway; Gloria Dawn Tillotson, 19, of Hot Springs; and Britt-Marie Tromater, 21, of Hope.

10 years ago


St. Joseph completed the 2AA-West softball schedule and celebrated Senior Night on Monday with a 16-2 shellbacking of Southdside Bee Branch at Airport Park.

The Lady Bulldogs improved to 8-3-1 overall and finished the conference schedule 5-2.