75 years ago


Dr. and Mrs. J.H. Flanagin entertained Friday evening at their home on Center Street, with a supper-bridge party. Lilies, tulips and spirea were arranged throughout the living room and dining room, where a dainty menu was served on four small tables, each covered with a linen cloth centered with a vase of mixed flowers. Mrs. Ila Wheat and Mrs. Ivan H. Grove won the prizes.

50 years ago


Mrs. Robert W. Henry was installed last week as president of the Conway Junior Auxiliary. Other officers are Mrs. Thomas G. Wilson, secretary; Mrs. Leo Crafton Jr., treasurer; Mrs. C.M. Holley, vice president; and Mrs. Alger E. Burdick, corresponding secretary. The officers were installed by Mrs. Lee W. Reynolds.

25 years ago


Keith Kordsmeier, a son of Mr. and Mrs. Emil "Doc" Kordsmeier, was recently selected as a member of the Richard Daggett Dean and Marguerite Taylor Dean Honorary Odontological Society.

The selection was based on his academic achievements and interest in dentistry.

Kordsmeier will graduate from the University of Tennessee Dental School in June and plans to return to Conway.

10 years ago


Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee accepted an official Toad Suck Daze T-shirt on Wednesday from Toad Master Brian Ratliff and the festival’s honorary events co-chairman, Deanna Ott. Toad Suck Daze will begin Friday, April 30, and run through Sunday, May 2, in downtown Conway.