75 years ago


Alfred Cox of Conway has been selected editor and Joe Phillips of Little Rock assistant editor of the Arkansas State Teachers College yearbook, the Scroll, for next year, according to an announcement by the publications committee.

Cox, a junior, has been active in debating this year, being a member of the men’s team which won the Grand Eastern tournament at Rockhill, S.C., in April. He is president of the ATC Players and a member of the Royal Rooters, Phi Sigma Phi, honorary science fraternity and Sigma Tau Gamma, social fraternity.

Cox is the second Conway boy to assume an important position on the 1940 yearbook. Three weeks ago, in the annual student election, E.S. Jennings was elected business manager.

50 years ago


The Conway Junior High School Library Club officers for 1964-65 are Ricky Willbanks, president; Andy Dean vice president; Kathy Thompson, secretary; Blakie Browning, treasurer; and Johnny Ray, reporter.

The ninth grade election committee consisted of Johnny Tyler, Julie Isom, Elaine Gresham. Susan Farris, Terry Milam and Connie Bass.

25 years ago


Faulkner County competitors placed first in six events at an Arkansas Razorback State High School Rodeo Association regional rodeo recently at Calico Rock, while Tahnya Washburn of Conway and Michael Harris of Vilonia won all-around titles.

Washburn scored 857.84 to win the girls title. She placed first in breakaway calf roping and girls cutting and was second in barrel racing and third in goat tying.

Harris finished with 536.76 points to capture the boys title. He placed second in calf roping and third in boys cutting.

10 years ago


The Greenbrier Braves T-ball Team won their medals for taking first place in the preseason tournament. Team members are Shane Almond, Cody McKnight, Carter Burcham, Steven Brewster, Wyatt Brewer, Sam Burroughs, Luke Turner, Cotton Patton, Wesley Waters, Carter Coats and coaches Jack McKnight and Kirby Coats.