75 years ago


R.J. Hammond, who lives two miles east of Conway, brought the Log Cabin Democrat the season’s first cotton bloom today from an upland farm.

His brother, Ed Hammond, brought in the first bloom from the Arkansas River bottoms last week.

50 years ago


Al Hiegel, Tuesday night was installed as president if the Conway Optimist Club. He succeeds William J. Dean. Other officers were Fay W. Smith, Robert Swartz, Jasper M. Olsen, and Jack Cornwell.

25 years ago


Brandon J. Ange, a second-grader at Sallie Cone Elementary School, and Bailey Hendrickson, a second-grader at Marguerite Vann Elementary School, have been selected for recognition for their achievements by the state Department of Education’s State Recognition Program.

Ange is a son and stepson of Angela and James Casebier and Hendrickson is a son of Richard and Julia Hendrickson, all of Conway.

10 years ago


Conway Christian School students participated in the Fireman’s Crawl, Drag and Squirt competition at Toad Suck Daze and won the Traveling Trophy for their school. Students participating were Adam Ragland, Summer Hoggard, Carly Powell, Kimberly Hays and Lane Mahaney.