Danberry commits to UA

New Arkansas women’s basketball coach Jimmy Dykes picked up a major in-state commitment Wednesday when Conway senior-to-be Jordan Danberry announced she intends to sign with the Razorbacks.

Danberry, who helped lead the Lady Cats to the 7A state title last season, was the MVP of the 7A state girls tournament.

She is rated one of the top girls high school guards in the nation.

She served as coach Ashley Nance manager for the high school all-star game in June. As a junior, she was ineligible to play.

Adcock interim UCA golf coach

Bunny Adcock, who helped build the reinstated University of Central Arkansas’ golf program in 2000, has temporarily taken the reins of the men’s program again — with a 100 percent salary cut.

Adcock is interim men’s golf coach, replaced Ryke Dismuke, who left UCA to become an assistant with the University of Houston. Adcock served as golf coach in 2000 for a salary of $1 a year. He eventually turned the program over to Dismuke, who served 14 seasons as director of golf, guiding the UCA program through the NCAA Division II Gulf South Conference and the Division I Southland Conference.

Adcock is currently a member of the UCA Board of Trustees and therefore cannot receive any payment for the interim position with the athletic department.

CCS gets sportsmanship award

Conway Christian has earned the Arkansas Activities Association’s Sportsmanship Award for Class 2A for the 2013-14 season.

The selection was done by conference members.

The award was presented Wednesday during the AAA’s annual Governing Body meeting in Little Rock.

Other classification winners were: Har-Ber, 7A; Siloam Springs, 6A; Camden-Fairview, 5A; Green Forest, 3A; and Shirley, 1A. There was no award presented in Class 4A.

Campbell to speak at LR TD Club

Steve Campbell, new University of Central Arkansas football coach, will be the guest speaker at the Monday, Nov. 17, luncheon of the Little Rock Touchdown Club.

The organization’s speaking lineup, billed the best ever, was announced Wednesday,

All luncheons will be on Monday except for three.

The other speakers: UA coach Bret Bielema, Tuesday, Aug. 19; former NFL coach Dave Wannstedt, Aug. 25; ESPN’s Mark May, Tuesday, Sept 2; NFL Hall of Famer Mike Singletary, Tuesday, Sept. 9; UA athletic director Jeff Long, Sept 15; Charlotte Jones Anderson of the Dallas Cowboys, Sept. 22; college coach Ed Orgeron, Sept. 29; NFL Hall of Famer Lee Roy Jordan, Oct. 6; former college coach Jim Donnan, Oct. 13; ESPN’s Dari Nowkan, Oct. 20; ASU coach Blake Anderson, Oct. 27; former Notre Dame star Rocket Ismail, Nov. 3; SWC Hall of Fame presentation, Nov. 10; former UA star Shawn Andrews, Nov. 24.

Former Dallas Cowboy star Michael Irvin will be the guest speaker at the February awards banquet.