The Conway Area Chamber of Commerce is accepting nominations for the 2015 Minority Enterprise Development awards. These awards recognize the achievements of minority entrepreneurs and business leaders in the Conway area.

The Chamber of Commerce established the MED committee to foster growth and sustainability of minority businesses and as a way to recognize minority businesses and their supporters.

Minority Enterprise Development serves minority business enterprises that are owned or controlled by African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Native Americans and Pacific Islanders.

The awards will be presented at the MED awards gala, which will take place Thursday, Sept. 24, at 6:30 p.m. in the Student Center Ballroom at the University of Central Arkansas.

Eligible nominees for the MED awards include, but are not limited to, business owners; business executives; nonprofit organizations; for-profit firms and institutions; universities and colleges; and representatives of local, state and federal governments who are members of the Conway Area Chamber of Commerce. The four categories of MED awards are as follows:

The Advocate for Opportunity Award recognizes an individual, organization or business that has demonstrated significant accomplishments in educating and advocating for minority business enterprises.

The Outstanding Minority Business of the Year award recognizes a business that has had a significant impact on the community.

The Outstanding Young Minority Professional award recognizes an individual between the ages of 21-39 who has committed himself or herself to business and community service.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has played an integral role in the creative, technical or professional progress of minority business development over the course of his or her life.

It celebrates high standards of excellence, dedication and accomplishment over a sustained period.

The Chamber is accepting nominations for the awards now through Friday, Aug. 7. To submit nominations, visit

For questions about the event or the call for nominations, contact Therese Pollard, director of events, at 501-932-5411 or at