May 25

(2008)

10 Years Ago

Candace Meeks was promoted to Consumer Banking Officer at Simmons First.

Paula Duran was named banking center manager of First Security Bank’s west location. She had over ten years of banking experience in retail and lending as well as 20 years of experience in the hospitality industry

Steve Hurd of Hurd Long Architects and Westwork Designs designed a set of architecturally themed toy building blocks—Cathedral Blocks and Castle Blocks which were for sale locally at That Bookstore at Mountebanq Place.

Fazoli’s was to be turned into Pasta Patch Italian Café, a fast-casual restaurant.

(1993)

25 Years Ago

The Conway School District Board of Education named the new elementary school under construction in western Conway Jim Stone Elementary, the first elementary school named for a male. Wampus Cat Stadium was also renamed John McConnell Stadium.

Bunny Sue, played by Megan Maxwell, was pictured being defended by her father, played by Austin Sanders, as her mother, played by Cali Martin, listened for the first-grade play, “Get Hoppin’” at Julia Lee Moore Elementary.

Little Caesars of Arkansas, owned by Ray, Dan and Toss Messer, opened its 22nd restaurant at Morningside and Highway 60 in Conway.

(1968)

50 Years Ago

New Ida Burns Parent Teacher Association officers were Mrs. Bill Hammett, president; Mrs. R.L. Bell, vice-president; Mrs. Arthur A. Johnson, secretary; Mrs. Albert Raymond, treasurer; Mrs. Bob Starkey, historian; and Mrs. C.B. Spangler, parliamentarian.

A groundbreaking was held for the new Fifth Avenue Park, a ten-acre park located south of Highway 64 and west of Interstate 40. A three-year $60,000 development was planned with matching federal funds.

SCA seniors gathered in front of Old Main for what was predicted to be the last graduation to be held in Ida Waldron Auditorium because of limited seating capacity.

(1943)

75 Years Ago

A new 30-passenger bus was put into service on the community bus line operated by Mr. and Mrs. J.A. Harrison between Beckett Mountain and Conway. The bus was constructed by Ward Body Works of Conway and operated two days a week to Conway and three days a week to Searcy.

Supt. B.A. Short announced that approximately 115 ninth grade students would receive certificates of promotion at exercises to be held at the junior high school auditorium. Citizenship awards would also be presented.

The under-river pipeline system supplying Camp Robinson with water gave way under the pressure of Arkansas River flooding.

(1918)

100 Years Ago

“Claim Allowed,” a four-act play, would be the title of the drama presented in the Conway High School auditorium by the senior class. The price of admission was 15 and 25 cents.

Advertisement: “Ice cold soda pop and chewing gum at my stand on Locust and Scott Street corner. Frank E. Robins, Jr.”