Each year, Academic Signing Day recognizes high school seniors in Conway who have received significant academic awards and substantial scholarships. The event is organized by the Conway Area Chamber of Commerce and is presented by Acxiom Corporation. Other sponsors for this year’s program include Central Baptist College, Conway Corporation, Crafton Tull, Crain Buick GMC, Log Cabin Democrat, First Security Bank, Magie-Mabrey Eye Clinic, Regions Bank, Smith Ford and Southwestern Energy Company.

The ceremony took place May 15 at Central Baptist College. One by one, the 28 honorees stated where they plan to attend college, signed a placard indicating their choice, and received an award. Shane Broadway, director of the Arkansas Department of Higher Education, delivered the keynote address.

Graduating seniors from Conway High School-West, St. Joseph High School, Conway Christian High School, and those home-schooled in the Conway School District were eligible to apply.

This year’s honorees maintained a cumulative GPA of 3.8 or higher on a 4.0 scale and have been recognized in one of these five areas:

•the recipient of a top scholarship from the four-year accredited college or university of their choice;

•a National Merit Scholar or National Merit Finalist designation;

•acceptance into a U.S. Service Academy;

•the winner of a state or national scholarship program; and

•the recipient of a Governor’s Distinguished Scholarship or Governor’s Scholarship.

The 2014 honorees, along with their college or university of choice, are as follows:

Bridgette Brown, Vanderbilt University; Mallory Bryant, Harding University; William Bryden Jr., Johns Hopkins University; Marianne Burnett, University of Arkansas; Kaleb Crow, University of Arkansas; Shelby Daniel, University of Central Arkansas; Caleb Dather, University of Arkansas at Little Rock.

Emily Fahr, University of Alabama; August Glover, University of Arkansas; Devin Henderson, Hendrix College; Abby Kordsmeier, University of Arkansas; Abigail Nipper, Arkansas State University; Mariah Oates, University of Arkansas; Zachary Orvin, University of Central Arkansas.

Rebecca Philpott, Lyon College; Isaac Powers, United States Air Force Academy; Drake Rea, University of Central Arkansas; Collie Shaw, University of Arkansas; Madison Shaw, University of Arkansas; Shelby Shelton, University of Arkansas at Little Rock; Jackson Smith, University of Arkansas.

Sydney Spradlin, University of Arkansas; Morgan Sweere, University of Central Arkansas; Avery Taylor, University of Central Arkansas; Olivia Tzeng, University of Arkansas Honors College; Jackson Vanderslice, Rochester Institute of Technology; Alex Velte, Arkansas Tech University; and Kyle Ward, University of Arkansas.