Arkansans for Gifted and Talented Education, AGATE, met for its 34th annual conference Feb. 20-22 at the Peabody Hotel in Little Rock.

"A Common Purpose For Uncommon Gifts" was the conference theme.

Kristi Chumley, facilitator of Gifted and Talented for Benton Schools, was the chairperson.

Preconference sessions included "Gifted and Talented and Common Core," "technology" and administrator and parent institutes.

Featured presenters on Advanced Placement Day were Dr. Jim Delisle, Dr. Bob Seney, and Bob Iseminger.

Marilyn Larson of Conway, co-chairman of the Governors Advisory Council, presented Act 56 Awards to Outstanding Gifted and Talented Programs.

Dr. Alicia Cotabish, University of Central Arkansas, presented "Modifying Common Core Math for High Ability Learners."

Dr. Charlotte Green, Director of Gifted and Talented Education in Conway Schools, was elected District Director for Arkansas Association Gifted Education Administrators, a branch of Arkansas Association Education Administrators.

Sally Stuart, GT Specialist at the Arch Ford Education Cooperative, was elected to the AGATE Board.