The Greenbrier Association of Educational Office Professionals (GAEOP) honored the paraprofessionals and aides who work within the Greenbrier School District with a reception.

Under the leadership of Karen Leding, Special Services Administrator Assistant, a reception was held for 34 workers with refreshments consisting of specially decorated cupcakes, finger foods, pick-up fruits, and goody bags for everyone.

"These special people are the nurturing invisibles who wear many hats in the care and instruction of our children," Leding said. "Some of their many hats include instructor, nurse, disciplinarian, care taker, provider and friend to name just a few. Paraprofessionals and aides often go way above and beyond their job descriptions in time and dedication to give of themselves to help students become happy and healthy individuals."

Scott Spainhour also praised them on behalf of the Greenbrier School District Board saying, "You may not have any idea of the impact you have on these kids while you’re doing it, but in time you’ll come to realize what a joy and help you have given them and added to our district. We appreciate you."

GAEOP sponsors Appreciation Celebrations for other personnel in the district. In October, 2012, Administrators and Assistant Administrators were honored. Spainhour was presented with District Educational Administrator of the Year and Arkansas Educational Administrator of the Year. He is now in the process of being nominated for National Education Administrator of the Year. Sharon Thessing was honored as District Office Professional of the Year. GAEOP sponsors the Allene Clifton Scholarships each year to deserving seniors in the Greenbrier School District and sponsors fundraisers during the school year to help with this event

The GAEOP Fall Conference will be held in November at the Holiday Inn Airport in Little Rock where the Greenbrier group will coordinate the Awards Luncheon. The new State Educational Administrator of the Year and State Office Professional of the Year will be awarded at that time and the GAEOP will chair the committee for selecting these persons.

Paraprofessionals and aides honored were: Becky Atkinson, Betty Blackburn, Lydia Blue, Jessica Brakebill, Leala Cain, Donna Camp, Pam Cardin, Terrye Cox, Angela Davidson, Mona Dixon, Hazel Edwards, Brittney Griffin, Cheri Hall, Anita Harris, Patty Ingram, Cathy Lahmann, Darla Latimer, Deanna Logan, Lisa McInerney, Andrea McNeese, Jan Moore, Belinda Nokes, Kristy Palmer, Gayla Pickard, Katie Redden, Bailey Reed, Charla Rippeto, Becky Robbins, Judy Rodgers, Mary Ann Thornton, Sherri Turner, Jennifer Verkler, and Tracy Winston.