Hendrix College names special assistant to the president

Courtney Lee Corwin has been named Special Assistant to the President of Hendrix College. As a member of the Senior Leadership Team, she will take a central role in new presidential initiatives including strategic planning, branding, community engagement and diversity.

Corwin will join the Hendrix community on June 1 from Southern Methodist University, where she has served as Director of Development for SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences since 2007.

"Courtney Corwin brings an impressive range of talents and professional experience to Hendrix," said incoming Hendrix College President Dr. Bill Tsutsui, who is completing his tenure as Dean of Dedman College. "She has worked closely with me on every major initiative I’ve undertaken at SMU, from writing Dedman College’s first strategic plan to the founding of an interdisciplinary institute."

Corwin managed Dedman College’s development and community engagement program for SMU’s Second Century Campaign, including raising leadership and major gifts, stewardship, event planning and board management and assumed additional administrative and project management responsibilities for the Dean.

"She has a deep respect for academic life and has collaborated on a daily basis with faculty, staff, students, alumni, board members, and donors," said President Tsutsui.

A native of Waco, Texas, Corwin earned a bachelor’s degree in art history and German and master’s degree in art history from SMU and completed a master’s degree in German literature and culture studies from Indiana University. She has spent 18 years leading alumni, development and public relations programs in private primary, secondary and postsecondary institutions in Dallas. Her strengths include complex project management, creating a sense of community and relationship building.

"I am honored to become a contributing member of a nationally recognized liberal arts institution, and I am thrilled to become part of the Hendrix College family and the central Arkansas community," said Corwin. "I have been particularly struck by the strong and inclusive culture among Hendrix students, faculty and staff, and the deep commitment of alumni and board members to the college and its values."

Bob McCormack elected to CareLink Board of Directors

Bob McCormack of Conway has been elected to serve as the chair of the CareLink Board of Directors.

McCormack retired as Vice President of Finance at the University of Central Arkansas, and was previous chairman of the Jeff Farris Leadership Academy of the Conway Rotary Club.

He is a member of the State Ethics Commission and has been active in his community with United Way, the Conway Interfaith Clinic, the Community Foundation of Faulkner County, Conway Regional Health System and the Conway Chamber of Commerce. He is also a member of First United Methodist Church in Conway.

Other members of the CareLink Board of Directors include Stacy Duckett of Little Rock, Chair Elect; Phyllis Holifield of Little Rock, Treasurer; and Beverly Villines of Little Rock, Secretary. Charley Baxter of North Little Rock and David Porter of Little Rock are new board members.

Last year more than 18,000 people in Faulkner, Lonoke, Monroe, Prairie, Pulaski and Saline counties were CareLinked with information and resources to help them stay active and in their own homes, avoiding more costly care.

Older people and their caregivers can get the information and assistance they need from CareLink at 501-372-5300, toll-free 800-482-6359 or by visiting carelink.org.

CHDC celebrates employees’ anniversaries

Nita Hill and Martha Burns have completed 26 years of service at the Conway Human Development Center. Hill and Burns began employment in direct care. Hill is currently a Residential Care Technician and Burns is currently a Residential Care Shift Supervisor Technician, on the Individual Assistance Team.

Mary Ann Rains has completed 31 years of service at the Conway Human Development Center. Rains began employment in 1983 in the direct care field. She has served in roles of Residential Care Technician, Residential Care Shift Supervisor, Community Services Aide and is currently an Administrative Specialist II in the Administration Department. Rains and her husband, Stephen, reside in Springfield. They have two children and seven grandchildren.

Arkansas Home Builders Association honors Kim Tyler

Kim Tyler of the Tyler Group, Inc. received the Associate of the Year Award Jan. 24 in Fort Smith from the Arkansas Home Builders Association.

Tyler serves on the Faulkner County Home Builders Association Builder Board, Government Affairs Board and Events Committee. She also promotes the Association by recruiting new members.

The Tyler Group is a surveying, mapping and engineering firm that has worked on Conway Commons, the University of Central Arkansas Football Field Turf and Brookstone Subdivision among other projects.

Faulkner County state representatives for 2014 include Herb Evans from Greenbrier Custom Homes, Inc., Camille Turchi from Ridout Lumber and Marilyn Fritts of Fritts Construction.