ARKADELPHIA —A total of 337 students at Ouachita Baptist University

were named to the Dean’s List for the spring 2014 semester.

The studentswill receive a certificate of recognition from Ouachita and will be includedin the "National Dean’s List" for 2013-14.

To be named to the Dean’s List, a student must compile at least a 3.5 grade

point average and be classified as a full-time student, with a minimum of 12

academic hours.

Conway – Hailee Bezet, Brooks Burleson, Jennifer Coon, Harrison Daniel, Katlin Dixon, Abby Engelkes, Geoffrey Gough, Logan Hampton, Chelsey Hess, Brannon Kotch, Maci Lewis, Alexa Reed, Victoria Samuelson, Buck Schroeder, Tanner Stevenson, Meagan Stiles, Laura Strossner

Greenbrier – Molly Bowman

Mayflower – Nate Malone

Vilonia – Julie Stanley

President’s List

Conway – Ryan Bumpers, Zach Bumpers, Cassie Fikes, Bonnie Magee,

Sidney Meriweather, Sarah Roberson, Will Wooten

Greenbrier – Kailey Madden, Anna Sikes

Guy Jason Stevenson

University of Arkansas

Local U of A students earn Architecture School Awards

FAYETTEVILLE  – Three University of Arkansas students from Conway were honored during the annual Fay Jones School of Architecture Honors Recognition reception and ceremony at the University of Arkansas.

Spencer Curtis received the Architecture Program Fifth Year Book Award. He is a fifth-year architecture major in the Fay Jones School of Architecture at the University of Arkansas and a son of Scott and Brenda Curtis of Conway.

Katherine Dombek received the Wittenberg, Delony and Davidson Memorial Scholarship, the E. Fay Jones Traveling Scholarship, the Herb Fowler Medal and the Maurice Jennings International Experience Endowed Scholarship. She is a third-year architecture major and a daughter of Eric and Susan Dombek of Conway.

Steven Wells received the Mason Contractors Scholarship. He is a second year architecture major and a son of Steven and Kimberly Wells of Conway.

Baylor University

Degrees Conferred

WACO, Texas — Baylor University conferred degrees on more than 2,300 graduates during spring commencement exercises May 16-17 in the Ferrell Center on the Baylor campus.


Caroline Anne Arnold, Bachelor of Science, Biology, cum laude

Kaitlin Ann Nabholz, Bachelor of Business Admin., Accounting, Finance

Emily Ann Travis, Bachelor of Science, Nutrition Sciences

New Bodenhamer Fellows

The University of Arkansas Honors College has awarded Bodenhamer Fellowships to six top incoming freshmen. The fellowship, one of the most prestigious undergraduate awards that the university offers, awards $70,000 in financial support and cultivates a strong sense of community among current and alumni fellows.

Madison "Maddie" Shaw, a graduate of Conway High School, plans to major in chemistry to prepare for a career in medicine. She is a National Merit Scholar, an AP Scholar with Distinction, and was selected to receive the "Real Proud of Real Wampus Cats Award," a district-wide honor.

Shaw also won the National Spanish Exam Award and participated in her school’s Quiz Bowl team. She has been active in band since the seventh grade, winning all-region and all-state honors as an oboe player, and serving as drum major of the marching band in her senior year.

She has played on the varsity softball team since ninth grade, winning all-conference and all-State  awards in her sophomore year. Shaw has also traveled the country as a member of Arkansas Xtreme, a competitive softball team. She is a member of the Beta Club and National Honor Society, and participates annually in the Turkey Basket Project, which provides Thanksgiving meals for families in need. Her parents are Collie and Vicky Shaw.