Three Bears make All-America team

The University of Central Arkansas Bears had three football players named Monday to the STATS FCS preseason All-America team.

Senior offensive guard Stockton Mallett was a second-team selection, while senior cornerback Tremon Smith and senior rover George Odum were third-team All-America selections. Ten Southland Conference players received All-America honors from STATS.

Mallett was a first-team All-Southland selection in 2016, helping the UCA offense finish second in the league in rushing offense and scoring offense, and fourth in total offense. Smith and Odum were also first-team All-SLC picks last fall. Odum was UCA’s leading tackler and ranked eighth in the SLC with 86 total tackles (league-high 60 solo tackles). Smith is a two-time All-SLC cornerback who also returns punts for the Bears.

UCA, picked second in the SLC preseason poll, opens the 2017 season on the road at Big 12 Kansas State in Manhattan, Kan., on Sept. 2. The Bears’ first home game is Sept. 16 when they open league play against Southeastern Louisiana at First Security Field at Estes Stadium.

Academic honors for UCA track

Both the University of Central Arkansas men’s and women’s track and field teams were named 2017 USTFCCCA All-Academic teams on Thursday.

UCA’s men’s squad had a 3.12 cumulative grade-point average, while the women’s team boasted a 3.29 cumulative GPA. The honor was the second in three years for the women’s squad.

Teams are recognized for having at least a 3.0 team grade-point average for the academic year.

Honors for UCA tennis

The Hendrix College men’s and women’s tennis teams were selected as All-Academic Teams by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association for the 2016-17 school year. Fourteen men’s players and 13 on the women’s team were selected as ITA Scholar Athletes. The Warriors had the most athletes named Scholar Athlete among 280 teams.

Coached by Harold Henderson, this is the ninth time each of the Warrior programs have received the All-Academic award. The women’s team have been honored each of the past seven seasons and the men have earned the award six of the last seven seasons.