UCA golfers 7th in Texas

MCKINNEY, Texas — The University of Central Arkansas men’s golf team dropped two spots Tuesday and finished seventh at the 14-team Jim West Intercollegiate played at TPC Craig Ranch and hosted by Texas State.

Junior Pep Angles tied for 11th overall, shooting rounds of 71-67-74 for a 4-under 212. Sophomore James Newton (72-68-74-214) finished tied for 16th, while senior Richard Farmer (72-73-75-220) tied for 34th. Freshman James Steven (79-70-73-222) tied for 43rd and sophomore Wes Harris (75-75-84-234) tied for 76th.

Virginia won the tournament with an 819 score, followed by Iowa State (848), Louisiana-Monroe (852), Sam Houston State (857), UT-Arlington (858), Stephen F. Austin (860), UCA (864), McNeese State (869), Texas State (870), UALR (870), Houston Baptist (875), Florida Gulf Coast (889), Oral Roberts (890) and Florida Atlantic (904).

Ole Miss coaches to visit LR

Ole Miss head football coach Hugh Freeze, head basketball coach Andy Kennedy and athletics director Ross Bjork visit Little Rock on Monday, April 14, as part pf the BancorpSouth Rebel Road Trip, an 11-stop, weeklong tour of the region.

The event will be held at Whole Hog Café from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. and lunch will be served. Visit www.rebelroadtrip.com for tickets and full details of the caravan.

The BancorpSouth Rebel Road Trip features Ole Miss fan meetings across four states and runs Sunday through Friday. Little Rock is among six new destinations on the third annual tour, along with Dallas, Jackson, Tenn., and Mississippi cities Grenada, Hattiesburg and Biloxi. Return stops include Memphis, Tenn., and Corinth, Jackson, Oxford and Tupelo in Mississippi.

In addition to the speakers, the meetings include Ole Miss officials, special guests, information booths, merchandise and an exciting video look at the University, including Rebel Athletics, the Athletics Foundation and the Alumni Association.

Generalz win youth tourney

The Arkansas Generalz, a Conway 9AA youth baseball team, won the Chicken Express March Madness tournament.

Team members are Kyler Spencer, Jered Sanders, Lucas Law, Caden Kristofik, Jake Hill, Zach Tucker, Cole Glover, Daxton Dismuke, Max Longing, Troy Wiseman, and Preston Oakes.

The team is sponsored by Sonic Drive-In of Conway, Kelli Small of Pam McDowell Properties, Drs. Fiddler and Fulmer D.D.S., and Conway Children’s Clinic.