With sweep, UCA gains 6th seed

NEW ORLEANS — By completing a sweep of the three-game series with a 4-3 win Saturday over the University of New Orleans, the University of Central Arkansas baseball team secured the No. 6 seed in the Southland Conference tournament.

The UCA victories, the Bears’ second straight sweep, combined with McNeese State’s loss to Nicholls State, moved the Bears from the seventh seed to the sixth seed Saturday.

The Bears (29-21, 17-13) won their sixth straight game to close the regular season and finished with the most league victories since joining the SLC in 2007. UCA, the defending SLC Tournament champion, enters with the longest winning streak of any of the eight teams.

They will play third-seeded Texas A&M-Corpus Christi at 7 p.m. Wednesday at Bear Stadium in the first round of the double-elimination tournament.

Saturday, UCA overcame a 3-2 deficit after just one inning Saturday and took the lead for good with two runs in the third inning to complete the scoring. Sophomore right hander Connor Gilmore went seven innings, allowing seven hits and three runs. Junior Connor McClain of Conway pitched scoreless eighth and ninth innings for his second save in as many days.

The Bears out-hit the Privateers 11-8, with Nate Ferrell going 3 for 5 and Wesley Hoover, Tyler Langley and Justin Treece picking up two hits apiece. Langley had two RBI.

UCA’S Angles ties for 23rd

COLUMBIA, Mo. — University of Central Arkansas junior Pep Angles shot a 1-under 71 on Saturday at the NCAA Columbia Regional and finished tied for 23rd at The Club at Old Hawthorne.

Angles, playing in his second consecutive NCAA Regional, improved on his 55th-place finish from a year ago in the 75-player field.

The junior from Barcelona, Spain, started on the back nine again Saturday and birdied three holes with a lone bogey to make the turn at 2-under. Angles, the two-time Southland Conference Golfer of the Year, added a bogey on No. 4 on his final nine holes to finish at -1 for the day and the tournament.

Missouri’s Emilio Cuartero surged from seventh place to win the individual title at -11. He was followed by Oklahoma State’s Taylor Gooch (-10), Missouri’s Hunter Kraus (-10) and OSU’s Jordan Niebrugge (-10). OSU won the team title, followed by Arkansas, Missouri and LSU.

Angles, who will play on the European team at the Palmer Cup this summer, was the top individual, besting players from Tulsa, Kansas State and Fairfield.