January is Arkansas School Board Member Recognition Month, and at the Conway School Board meeting Tuesday the board members were recognized for several recent awards.

Board member Carl Barger was recently presented the Pinnacle Award by the Arkansas School Board Association. Seventeen school board members were recognized as Pinnacle Board Members in December, which is the highest award for an individual school board member in the state.

Barger has accumulated more than 200 hours of professional development as a school board member.

Additionally, the entire Conway Public School Board of Education was recognized at the state school board meeting for receiving the Master Board Award, which means each of the seven board members have exceeded 50 hours of professional development.

"It helps all of us do our job, especially with the ever-changing times in education, school board members must keep abreast of the knowledge of financial matters and curriculum," said Board President Susan McNabb. "It’s a very important aspect of our roll of school board members to have that training."

A proclamation from Gov. Mike Beebe’s office set up January as Arkansas School Board Member Recognition Month. The proclamation stated that more than 1,470 local school board members receive no compensation for their service and are instrumental in setting the mission for their districts, overseeing finances, establishing and enforcing policies, hiring and evaluating superintendents and approving curricula.

"These seven folk up here do not receive a single dime for what they do," Superintendent Greg Murry said. "They do it because they love kids. They do it because they love schools and are committed to this community."

(Staff writer Angela Spencer can be reached by email at angela.spencer@thecabin.net or by phone at 505-1212. To comment on this and other stories in the Log Cabin, log on to www.thecabin.net. Send us your news at www.thecabin.net/submit)