The Conway Rotary Club recently hosted its annual Awards Banquet and New President Installation ceremony on June 26 in the Dining Hall at Central Baptist College.

John Taylor of Fort Smith, Ark., and a polio survivor and early recipient of help from the March of Dimes, was the keynote speaker. President Roger Lewis rang the Rotary bell and observed a moment of silence for club members Becky Harris and Don Nixon who passed away earlier this year.

President Lewis and Awards Committee Chair Bill Simmons presented numerous awards throughout the evening. Dr. Charlotte Green was presented a Paul Harris Fellowship for her effort to improve preschool education in Conway, specifically for her work to launch the Conway Imagination Library. The Community Service Award was presented to Conway Regional Health System in recognition of their outstanding support of the community, particularly for their exemplary response to the April 27 tornado that struck multiples areas of Faulkner County. Lloyd Westbrook was named Rotarian of the Year, and Joan Shofner was presented the Bravo Zulu Award.

Paul Harris Society member certificates were presented to Dan Allen, Bill Simmons, and Sancy Faulk. President Lewis recognized his leadership team and outgoing Board Members, Jim Murphy and Rik Sowell. Mike Binko, Jason Culpepper, Michael D’Almeida, Sancy Faulk, Bob McCormack, and Rachel Steele were recognized for one year of perfect attendance; Roger Lewis for three years; Rik Sowell for four years; John Gierke for five years; Joan Shofner for six years; Dan Allen for 14 years; and Bill Simmons for 22 years.

Following the awards presentation President Lewis passed the gavel and installed Joan Shofner as the 2014-15 club president. The club also elected officers for 2014-15 as follows: Joan Shofner, president; Sancy Faulk, president-elect; Michelle Phillips, president nominee; Roger Lewis, immediate past president; Deanna Gamble, secretary; Wendy Francis, treasurer; Rachel Steele, sergeant-at-arms and new generations director; DeEnna Runyon, club administration director; Jason Culpepper, membership director; Mike Binko, public relations director; Michael D’Almeida, Rotary Foundation director; and Lisa Garner, Service Projects director.

The Conway Rotary Club was founded in 1921 just 16 years after the first Rotary Club was founded by Paul Harris in Chicago, Ill., in 1905. The mission of the Conway Rotary Club is to enrich lives locally and internationally through service, education, networking and leadership. For more information, visit the club’s website at