The Arkansas Educational Television Network is accepting entries for two contests:

• "Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase," which highlights the creativity and talent of the state’s kindergarten through 12th grade students. Selected entries will be broadcast on AETN and posted to Entries must be submitted electronically or postmarked by Friday, March 25, and winners will be announced in May.

Now in its 10th year, "Student Selects" is an annual event that grants these future filmmakers the opportunity to submit their film and video handiwork for possible broadcast on AETN, streaming on, and screening at the Young Filmmakers Showcase in May and the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival in October. Throughout the year, "Student Selects" maintains an open call policy, and AETN will accept and review entries as they are received.

Entry categories include, but are not limited to: documentary, narrative (short, full-length, fiction, sitcom, etc.). animation (hand-drawn, Claymation, Flash, computer-modeled, etc.), music videos and PSAs.

High school seniors who submit films to AETN’s "Student Selects" may also compete for $10,000 in college scholarships from the Thea Foundation. Thea awards four $2,500 Young Filmmaker Scholarships to graduating seniors who enter and qualify. Categories include: screenwriting, directing, cinematography and editing. This Thea scholarship competition is unique in that it is open to students who attend public, private, charter or home schools, as well as those who have completed their GED. Scholarships will be awarded to the student’s institution of choice, regardless of planned major, GPA or test scores.

Additionally, in partnership with the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program and the Arkansas Humanities Council, ninth through 12th grade students may compete for the Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize, which honors student documentaries about any historic site in the state that is at least 50 or more years old. First through fourth place winners will receive $100, and one overall prize winner will receive $200. The Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize is supported in part by a grant from the Arkansas Humanities Council.

AETN and the Arkansas Historic Places Film Prize will present an evening of student digital shorts Wednesday, May 11, from 5:30 to 8:30 p.m. at the Ron Robinson Theater, 100 River Market Avenue, Little Rock. Thea scholarship winners will also be announced. The event is free and open to the public.

Anyone interested in submitting films should visit for complete rules, to submit entries electronically and to download entry forms for mailed entries. Past entries may also be viewed online. Additional information may be obtained by contacting Casey Sanders at 501-682-4190 or

AETN will host youth filmmaking presentations, workshops and screenings of student films at the Young Filmmakers Showcase and HSDFF in 2016. Additional venues may be added throughout the course of the year and will be announced via

• The PBS KIDS Writers Contest is designed to promote the advancement of children’s literacy skills through hands-on, active learning. The contest empowers children in kindergarten through third grades to celebrate creativity and build literacy skills by writing and illustrating their own stories.

Each entrant will receive a participation certificate, and 12 winners – three from each grade – will receive an AETN prize pack. In addition, first place winners will be given the opportunity for Clifford the Big Red Dog to visit their school or to tour the AETN studios in Conway. More than 200 students from across Arkansas entered the contest last year. Winning stories, as well as contest rules, creative writing resources and entry forms, are available at Additional information is available by emailing

Stories may be fact, fiction, prose or poetry. Only one entry will be allowed per person, and stories must be by a single author. Kindergarten and first grade stories must have a minimum of 50 words and a maximum of 200 words. Second and third grade stories must have a minimum of 100 words and a maximum of 350 words.

Text must be printed, written legibly or typed. Children who cannot write may dictate their story to be printed, written legibly or typed. Stories must have at least five original, clear and colorful illustrations. Non-English text must be translated on the same page, and the translated text (English text) must adhere to the word count.

Entries will be judged on originality, creative expression, storytelling and integration of text and illustrations.

Stories should be submitted by Friday, April 1, by mail to: AETN – Writers Contest, 350 S. Donaghey, Conway, AR 72034. Winners will be chosen in April and featured on