Conway Alliance for the Arts (CAFTA) gathered its supporters on April 19 to give a cheer to those who have contributed to the welfare of the arts.

The event was in the Trieschmann Fine Arts Building on the Hendrix College campus, followed by a dinner at Michelangelo’s in Downtown Conway.

The public was invited to nominate those who had worked with programs that recognized that the value of arts and culture "enriches lives and the economy of the Conway area."

Those selected were Becky Harris, Outstanding Community Advocate; Simona Donava, Student Artist; Patty Oeste, Outstanding Arts Educator; and the family of Don Marr (deceased), Individual Artist.

A Lifetime Achievement Award from CAFTA and the Mayor’s Office went to Win and Carmen Thompson.

Bowls of local and exotic woods turned by Mark Cothan of Conway, were presented to the recipients.

Others nominated were Student Artists: Sydney Rasch and Elizabeth Campbell; Outstanding Arts Educators, Amy Ness, Gene Hatfield, Jo Claire Dodson, and Eric Binnie; Individual Artist: Bob Reising, Kateri Joe and Sheila Parsons,

CAFTA is a private, nonprofit agency designated as the City of Conway’s official arts agency.

Funds raised through this event give unrestricted support for CAFTA programs such as ArtsFest and public art projects like the Community Mural Project.

Kim Williams is CAFTA chairman.