David McCollum (right), sports columnist for the Log Cabin Democrat, receives a plaque honoring him as Arkansas Sportswriter of the Year by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association. Bob Ryan of the Boston Globe, the national honoree of Sportswriter of the Year, presented McCollum with his state award during a ceremony at Salisbury, N.C. The state award was the result of voting of NSSA members in Arkansas. Chuck Barrett of the Arkansas Razorback Sports Network was the winner of the state award for sportscasters, which was won nationally by Jim Nance. PHOTO COURTESY OF NSSA