75 years ago  


In the Democratic primary election, Gov. J.M. Futrell and Congressman Dave D. Tery carried Faulkner County for re-nomination by decisive majorities. Carl E. Bailey for attorney general, Earl Page for state treasurer, J. Oscar Humphrey for state auditor and Ed F. McDonald for secretary of state also won this county by big margins. Circuit Judge W.J. Waggoner of Lonoke and Prosecuting Attorney George F. Hartje of Conway had no opposition and received the full vote. 

Mr. and Mrs. E.G. Pettus planned to go to Little Rock to make their home, after spending two years in Conway while Mr. Pettus was engaged in liquidating the Farmers State Bank. 


50 years ago 


Miss Robbie Thomas resigned as an instructor in science and mathematics in Conway Junior High School to accept a position as teacher of special education at Central High School in Little Rock.

Hiram Carpenter purchased the first bale of cotton produced in this county this year. The bale, grown by Fred Easterwood of the Friendship community, was ginned Monday. It weighed 435 pounds. Mr. Carpenter paid 35 cents a pound for the cotton, which was classed middling one and 1-32 inch staple.


25 years ago


Warren Readnour served as a page at the Republican National Convention in Dallas. He would be a junior at Conway High School in the fall.

Gamma conclave of Kappa Kappa Iota held a meeting in the Sallie Cone Elementary School library. Hostesses were Ruth Floyd, Doris Morse, Freda Prince and Chris Dayer.

The West Conway Extension Homemakers Club met at the home of Mrs. Milbre Crowell. Mrs. Elsie Heffington and Mrs. Rose New served as co-hostesses. Roll call was answered with "The Outing I Most Enjoy." Door prizes were won by Mrs. Coy Wolfe and Mrs. Dymple Clements. Bingo was played during the social hour and refreshments were served. 


10 years ago 


The Vilonia Shockers placed third in a 10-and-under regional fast-pitch softball tournament in Oklahoma City. Members of the team were Desiree Methaney, Kayla Shirley, Felicia Kelley, Kim Emmonds, Courtney Kelly, Sammy Shelton, Leslie Bagwell, Ashley Earles, Nicole Beck, Sara Beth Shock, Sue Shock and Shannon Eubanks. Coaches were Brent Kelley, Bryan Emmons and David Kelley. The team was sponsored by Stanley Gordon and Sue Shock Insurance.