75 years ago  


Gov. J. Marion Futrell, who celebrated his 63rd birthday, celebrated his victory as a birthday gift from his Arkansas voters. Dave D. Terry had 16,977 votes to 10,915 for Horace Knowlton with 200 of the 262 precincts tabulated.

Results in the races for committeemen gave victories to the following Conway positions: First Ward "A" winner was V.H. Gragson; First Ward "B" was D.O. Harton Jr.; Second Ward winner was Fred Gordy; Third Ward winner was A.M. Ledbetter Sr.; Fourth Ward winner was Bryon Griffith. 

50 years ago 


Dr. and Mrs. R.W. Shideler and children, Keith and Charlotte, returned to their home, 1903 Jefferson St., from Fayetteville, where they had spent several weeks while Dr. Shidler served as a summer term member of the University of Arkansas faculty.

Safeway advertised the following items for sale this week: 25-pound bag red potatoes — 69 cents. Bananas — 3 pounds, 29 cents; cauliflower — 19 cents each; cantaloupe — five for $1; U.S.D.A. choice beef chuck roast — 39 cents per pound; grade A eggs — three dozen $1; Red Delicious apples — 4-pound bag 49 cents; Cheer detergent — large box 33 cents and Sunshine hydrox cookies — 16-ounce 49 cents.

Two Conway girls graduated from St. Vincent’s School of Nursing in Little Rock. They were Regina Hambuchen and Clarita Lachowsky. 

25 years ago


In a special meeting of the Conway School District Board of Education, the board unanimously approved a new teacher salary schedule that provided at least a $2,000 raise for every teacher in the district. In addition, each of the district’s 17 administrators would get a $3,000 raise.

Greg Lasker of Conway, who returned to free safety after spending half of last season at cornerback, will figure prominently in the University of Arkansas defensive scheme. "Greg is a real key to our defense, to be quite honest," said UA coach Ken Hatfield. Lasker had become the leader of what was rated as a strong UA secondary. "I think Greg has all of the potential and character traits to label him a leader," said fellow defensive back Kevin Wyatt. "I feel Lasker is the kind of player you want to be like."  

10 years ago 


The Conway High School freshman squad cheerleaders won several awards at the Universal Cheerleading Association camp. The squad placed first in dance routine. Tabitha Thomas, Britney McCarthy, Betsy Kordsmeier and Megan Lambe were chosen as All-star cheerleaders and would have the opportunity to travel to Florida to Participate in the pre-game performance of the Citrus Bowl. Members of the White Squad included Ashley Moore, Captain Brittany Ezelle, Kylee Shaw, Katy Ingram, and co-captain Thomas, Kordsmeier, McCarthy and Lambe. Beverly Sutterfield was sponsor of the squad.