special to the log cabin

75 years ago  


Propped up on a comfortable bed on which she had lain for 6 years, happy and alert as she received congratulations form many relatives and friends, Mrs. Elizabeth McWhirter Harwood, Conway’s oldest woman and perhaps the oldest in the state, celebrated her 103rd birthday at the home of her daughter, Mrs. John Hugh Reynolds, and Dr. Reynolds, on the Hendrix campus. Sustaining in 1928 a fracture of the hip, which had never reunited, Mrs. Harwood was unable to walk, but her health was otherwise good. She was at all times cheerful and optimistic. She enjoyed reading and kept in close touch with the affairs of the world. Mr. Harwood died in 1924 and Mrs. Harwood, then 93, came to Conway to make her home with Dr. and Mrs. Reynolds.


50 years ago 


Tommy Markham was playing in Larry Martin’s band in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. He would enter Arkansas State Teachers College in September.

Conway Memorial Hospital Auxiliary workers were announced. Wednesday workers were Mrs. Johnny Desalvo, Mrs. Coy Turner, Mrs. Robert L. Taylor, Mrs. Herman Hesson, Mrs. Amos Palmer, and Mrs. William S. Montgomery. Thursday workers were Mrs. Dave H. Ward, Mrs. Gabe Balmaz, Mrs. Jack Jumper, Mrs. Hays Gibson and Miss Hope Benton. Friday workers were Mrs. H.J. Wasson, Mrs. Charles A. Archer, Mrs. George W. Reece, Mrs. Jack Thompson and Mrs. Russell A. Stewart. Saturday workers were Mrs. Orene Cochran, Mrs. Charles S. Bensberg, Mrs. Joe Smith and Mrs. Joe A. Reynolds.


25 years ago


Bo Denton and Bo Thomas defeated Hal Grafton and Lander Smith to win the men’s A division championship in Conway Country Club’s Doubles Championships over the weekend.  Cecil Ward and Keene Ketcheside were third. Roseanne Johnson and Ruby Lynn Thomas won the women’s A division followed by Sharon Clark and Beverly McChristian.  Elizabeth Jewell and Norma Hull took third. In the men’s B division Fayburn Riggins and John Carpenter edged Vaughn Jewell and Paul McChristian for the title. Charlie Nabholz and Neil Hattlestad were third. Katherine Satterfield and Julia Hendrickson were the women’s B division champions, beating Sara Ward and Adair Howell. Shelvie Hawk and Mary Alese Schrieber followed. Clay Lamey and Fletcher Smith were winners in the men’s C division competition, followed by Richie Howell and Dickie Hendrickson.

10 years ago 


Christopher Moore spent part of the summer performing in Europe with the Sound of America Honor Band and Chorus. Moore placed as first chair trombone and performed a solo in one of the Honor Band arrangements as well as performing in a brass ensemble that accompanied the honor choir.

Derwin R. and Blanche Foreman Ball of Greenbrier observed their 50th wedding anniversary. Mr. and Mrs. Ball were married Aug. 22, 1949, at First United Methodist Church in Conway with Dr. Ira A. Brumley officiating. The Balls were parents of Brit A. Ball of Jacksonville and the late Marsha C. Waldo, Rodney Ball and Louann Ball. They had four grandchildren. Mr. and Mrs. Ball were retired.