special to the log cabin

75 years ago  


Mr. and Mrs. Winfred Landers were the parents of a daughter, born at their home, 1320 Clifton St. 

Nine young women of St. Joseph Parish Catholic Church left Conway for St. Louis and Fort Smith to begin studies for admission to nun’s orders in their church. Three of the young women left yesterday to join the order of the School Sisters of Notre Dame at Santa Maria in Ripa, St. Louis, Mo., while six left to enter the order of St. Benedict at St. Scholastica Academy in Fort Smith. Miss Marie Lachowsky, Miss Gertrude Lachowsky and Miss Francis Meyer would be candidates of the School of Sisters of Notre Dame. Miss Anna Marie Hiegel, Miss Lucy Luyett, Miss Helen Lachowsky, Miss Christine Nahleh, Miss Rose Siebenmorgen and Miss Catherine Walker would be postulants of the Benedictine order. 


50 years ago 


Robert A. McNutt planned to erect a new building at Front and Oak streets. The old building at the site was to be torn down. The old building was the first brick structure erected in the downtown business area of Conway.

Open house was held at the home of Dr. and Mrs. James S. Upton, 1212 Winfield St. in celebration of the Upton’s 25th wedding anniversary. Presiding at the punch bowl were Mrs. Joel Cooper, Mrs. James Beal, Mrs. W.C. Buthman, Mrs. Capp Shanks and Mrs. Jack Russell. Greeting the guests at the door were Mr. and Mrs. H.H. Bumpers and Mrs. Marshall T. Steel. Mrs. Roslyn Grigsby and Virginia and Jack Upton assisted in serving the guests.


25 years ago


Conway School District’s Board of Education hired Sonya Stephens as an elementary school physical education coordinator. They also hired Kathryn E. Hull as a first-grade teacher at Sallie Cone Elementary School. She replaced Janet Cox, who resigned.

Dr. John Churchill, vice president and dean for academic affairs at Hendrix College, was elected president of the Conway Civic Orchestra’s Board of Advisers, a newly organized group. Other officers were Arthur Dunaway and Mrs. Quida Wright.


10 years ago 


The Mount Vernon–Enola Lady Warhawks eight-and-under softball team went undefeated in Tri-County league play. They placed third in the state tournament. Members were Taylor Hawkins, Stephanie Lesley, Kendell Holland, Summer Petersen, Hannah Beene, Kayla Brewer, Nora Stout, Tarra Massey, Michelle Passmore, Amanda Curtis, Elisabeth Bailey, Kristin Weatherford and Tishia Chapman. Darren Hawkins was the coach. Dennis Curtis, Steve Lasley and Wayne Beene were assistants.