The Conway School Board elected a new president Tuesday night and discussed changes to the Conway School District’s hiring procedure.

It was decided that Carolyn Lewis will serve as the board’s new president, succeeding Lena Hancock, with Susan McNabb serving as vice president and Bill Clements as secretary.

The board also discussed doing away with the current points-based hiring system. Superintendent Dr. Greg Murry said the district has for several months looked at scrapping the system in favor of one that gives more responsibility to principals in selecting employees at their respective schools.

In the proposed system, principals would be authorized to form hiring committees composed of employees at their schools and through candidate interviews with both the principals and committees three candidates would be selected and ranked in order of preference. The final step in the proposed plan would be a final interview with Murry.

The board also heard the district’s 2009 annual report, delivered by Dr. David Westmoreland.

Murry said the district is, academically, "well above the state average in virtually every category of measurement" and said that, financially, the district is doing well.

The board also approved the following:


• Angie Robinette family — four children to the Pulaski County Special School District;

• And Mary Riley family — one child to the South Conway Co. School District.


• Karen Cagle, teacher, effective Sept. 18;

• And Alton Tyus, bus driver.

New Hires:

• Emily Ann Peters, special education resource teacher;

• Margaret Greene, instructional paraprofessional;

• Brittney Moix, ABC Preschool instructional paraprofessional;

• Samantha Felts, ABC Preschool instructional paraprofessional;

• Jason Moix, construction paraprofessional;

• Sherry Gwatney, custodian;

• And Lisa Rickett, special education instructional paraprofessional.

(Staff writer Joe Lamb can be reached at 505-1238 or by E-mail at Send us your news at