Nine members of the Faulkner County Retired Teachers Association attended the ARTA State Convention September 23 at the Wyndham, North Little Rock. 

The Arkansas Retired Teachers Association is an independent non-profit organization of 10,000 plus retired educators, whose purpose is to promote: 1) the professional, social and economic welfare of educators; and, 2) worthy educational and civic endeavors through volunteer service.

The FCRTA unit, under the leadership of past president Carl Barger, received the Unit Achievement Award. 

The unit has earned this distinction for the last five years, as well. 

Nancy Mitchell and Kathryn Starr received Individual Achievement Awards recognizing their outstanding service to the unit. 

Two Conway teachers received Parsons-Burnett Grants of $1500 for study at the graduate level. They are Debbie Ann Young, seventh grade, Bob Courtway Middle School, and Benjamin Joel Darley, Alternative Learning Environment lead teacher.

Steve Singleton, executive director, provided the ARTA Update and Janet Burks completed her term as ARTA Secretary. 

Jerry Lancaster of Conway attended the meeting as a representative of AARP. Also attending from FCRTA were Sandra Bradberry, Carol Powers, Sharon Rapp and Edna Ruth Rives.