75 years ago  


The Catholic Union of Arkansas closed its 44th annual convention in Little Rock. T.J. Arnold of Little Rock was elected president and John Grummer of Conway was elected first vice president.

The executive committee of the Vilonia PTA met at the home of Mrs. Simon Neff. Chairmen of committees were named. They included Mrs. Clyde Hogan, membership; Miss Bernice Woodward, publicity; Mrs. M.A. Stewart, finance; Mrs. Dalton Matthews, hospitality; Mrs. R.L. Saye, publications; Mrs. B.C. McCord, social services; Mrs. L.P. Morris, homemaking; and Miss Pauline McNew, program. After the business meeting a social hour was enjoyed.



50 years ago 


Henry Hawk, a genuine article of football greatness, caught a 60-yard touchdown pass in the fourth quarter to lift unbeaten Arkansas State Teachers over hard-nosed Delta State, 20-19. The explosive payoff aerial from quarterback Jim Faulkner, plus Jim Wetherington’s game-winning placement brought the Bears their fourth straight win-the hardest yet- and sent Delta State down to its first loss in five starts. 

H.J. Wasson, owner of Erwin Farm at Conway, collected 12 prizes at the Pan-American Livestock Exposition in Dallas, Texas. Included among his prizes were the reserve grand champion female, reserve senior champion female and reserve junior champion female.



25 years ago


13 people won prize money for collecting the most the most pledge money for the walk-a-thon at the Conway Human Development Center. Winners and their prizes of the adult walk were Jeanne Akers, a fur coat; Linda Parker, trip to Cancun, Mexico; Janice Greshman, trip to Dallas; Regina Poteete, ceiling fan; Heber McKissack, $50 give certificate from Kaleidoscope Stained Glass; John Reed, $50 toward tuition at the University of Central Arkansas; Faye Wilkerson, six weeks of lessons in stained glass at Kaleidoscope; Brenda Patrick, lady’s golf bag; and Frances Sanders, two passes to UCA football games. Miniwalk winners were Heath Graham, Lance Kershner, Lisa Hoyt and Brett Shockley. About $16,00 was raised at the event. The money would be used for a proposed recreation-visitation complex for the center.


10 years ago 


Homecoming activities were held at Conway High School-West. Members of the homecoming court included Shelly Allison, Nicole Brown, Brittany Diane Coburn, Sierra Summers, Katie Bailey, Katie Boone, Leslie Carter, Melia Tate, Ashley Winston, Taylor Caldwell, Lauren Choate, Sabrina Owens, Chelsea Michelle Painter, Erin Shelton and Casey Thronberry. The homecoming queen was crowned at the Little Rock Fair-Conway game. Taylor Caldwell was selected as queen. Maid of honor was Lauren Choate.