75 years ago  


Mrs. A.J. Landers was hostess to the American Legion Auxiliary this week at an all-day quilting. A large number of members were present for the lovely dinner the hostess served. The quilt was completed late in the afternoon. Many articles of clothing and bedding were hastily gathered up from members present and given to a needy veteran who came before the meeting personally to tell of his family’s destitute condition.


50 years ago 


A weeklong program of activities promoted American Education Week at Pine Street High School. Children, parents and teachers stressed the importance of education with various activities. Speakers during the week were Mrs. Catherine Williams, the Rev. Robert Crawford, Hays Gibson and Faber Bland. A poster contest was held. Winning posters were drawn by Bennie Floyd Williams, Shirley Easterwood, Oreander Mason, Lou Hattie Fourte and La Prince Hale.

The Conway Orpheus Club held it’s meeting in the Mirror Room at McAlister Hall. Guest day was observed. Miss Jean McLauren, soprano, and Mrs. Mary James Head, pianist presented the program. Hostesses were Mrs. W. Clifford Thompson, Mrs. Robert W. Mosley, Mrs. Nolen M. Irby and Mrs. Horace Adams. 



25 years ago


The Log Cabin Democrat announced promotions of three newsroom employees and the addition of one-person on its newsroom staff. Jeff Bowen joined the news staff as a photographer. Laura Robins would continue working at the Log Cabin with part-time photographic responsibilities and would also work in other areas of the newspaper. Sonny Rhodes would work as city editor. Tyler Treadway was the Weekender editor.

Willy Fureigh, a member of Boy Scout Troop 366, was awarded the Eagle Scout badge in a ceremony at the Church of Jesus Christ Latter-Day Saints.



10 years ago 


Conway High School presented "The Mouse That Roared" at the Conway Public School Auditorium. Under the direction of Kelly Webber, drama teacher, the cast included David House, Shaleah Adkisson, Sarah Rigdon, Becka Cagle, Kristin Solberg, Mandy Goudeau, Brandon McClinton, Allen Frost, Elizabeth Battles, Katie Rook, Ryan Britton, Katherine Parker, Gopal Zapalowski, Matt Looney, Brittany Gnau, Matt Kershaw, David Weatherly, Jamie Rush, Elizabeth McCullars, Darla Healy, Kate Wilkinson, Drew Bacon, Zack Young, Michael Rhea, James Sullivan, Steve Lee, Justin Serio, Jessica Stokes, Corinne Monroe, and Tomy Lites. 

The Vilonia Middle School PeeWee cheerleaders won first place in the Conway Optimist Club Cheerleader Jamboree. The cheerleaders included Sarah Staggs, Kim Gill, Rachel White, Halie Heffington, Leslie Bagwell, Haley Cox, Tara Paul and Megan Cox. Coachers were Judy Cox and Nancy Paul.