LITTLE ROCK — The 2011 Small Works on Paper art exhibition will kick off its statewide tour Jan. 6 at Arkansas Educational Television Network in Conway.

Presented by the Arkansas Arts Council, the exhibition will be on display from Jan. 6-27 in the AETN Atrium at 350 S. Donaghey St. An opening reception, which will include talks by the artists, is set for 2-4 p.m., Saturday, Jan. 8, at the atrium. The reception is free and open to the public. 

Hours for the exhibition are 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Admission is free. To view the 2011 touring schedule and the list of the artists whose work was selected, visit

Now in its 24th year, the annual Small Works on Paper exhibition showcases artwork no larger than 24-by-24 inches by Arkansas artists who are members of the Arkansas Artist Registry, an online art gallery coordinated by the Arts Council. The selected work is chosen by an out-of-state juror, who also selects pieces for purchase awards.

Purchase award winners receive the cash amount equivalent to the value of their selected works. Funded by entry fees, the purchase award pieces become part of the exhibition’s permanent collection. 

The art will be on display in 10 galleries throughout the state in a year-long touring show. The 2011 show features 39 works and was juried by Patter Hellstrom, a partner in Hellstrom+Zirnis LLC, a bicoastal artist/curator team based in San Francisco and New York specializing in collections acquisitions and managing public art projects. 

"An intriguing selection of work was offered for the Small Works on Paper exhibition." Hellstrom said. "From that group, 39 pieces were selected that range in media from drawing, photography, mixed media, to painting and printmaking. Stylistically the works are equally diverse, representing a range from realism to abstraction." 

There were 275 entries submitted; seven artists were selected to receive purchase awards totaling nearly $2,000: William R. Detmers of Pine Bluff, Jennifer Hackworth of Jonesboro, Temple Skelton Moore of Prairie Grove, John Harlan Norris of Jonesboro, Sabine Schmidt of Fayetteville, Mitchell Skinner of Tucker and Keri Young of Little Rock.