Dr. and Mrs. O.D. Smith entertained members of the staff of the agricultural department of the Arkansas State Teachers College and their wives Saturday evening at their home on Western Avenue. At a beautifully decorated table covers were placed for Mr. and Mrs. Troy H. Jones, Mr. and Mrs. S.D. Mitchell, Dr. and Mrs. S.T. Button, Mr. and Mrs. Ira B. Jones and the hosts.

Miss Barbara Ingram, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Dale Ingram, will be crowned Hi-day Queen at 7:45 p.m. Friday in pre-game ceremonies at the Hendrix Stadium before the Wampus Cats meet the Harrison Goblins.

Miss Ingram will be crowned and presented flowers by Co-captains Ernest Ruple and Phil Carter. She was selected earlier by the football squad.

Bill Clements of Conway was appointed Thursday to the state Highway Safety Program Advisory Board by Gov. Bill Clinton.

Clinton also appointed Don House of Mountain Home and the Rev. Robert Nelson Jr. of West Memphis to the board.

Choosing to EXCEL of Conway kicked off the Mayflower A-Team (Abstinence Team) program in their school on Tuesday during a special assembly. Dandrick Moten, director of community and youth relations, presented a check for $1,625 from a grant to get the program started. The A-Team will hold each other to a higher accountability in the choices that they make. The A-Team teacher directors are Heather Malone and Deborah Craig.

A-Team students are Darby Eckl, Megan Funderberg, Holly Wells, Blake Harrell and Gary Logan, and principal John Brainerd.