75 years ago


Mayor Bailey G. Wilson and his daughters, Misses Ethel and Ava Wilson, entertained a large group of friends Sunday evening at their home on Clifton Street with a buffet supper, complimenting Dr. Robert L. Taylor and Miss Mary Margaret Adkisson, whose marriage will occur Dec. 30. Miss Ethel Wilson and Miss Myrtle Charles welcomed the guests at the door and Mr. Wilson and Miss Ava Wilson received them in the living room. Mrs. B.D. Taylor and Mrs. Guy A. Simmons presided at the table and Miss Bernice Jones assisted in serving.

50 years ago


Harold Eidson Jr., son of Mr. and Mrs. Harold D. Eidson of Conway, has been elected president of Sigma Tau Gamma Fraternity at Arkansas State Teachers College. He will serve as the organization’s top officer during 1963.

Wilbur Owen of Conway was elected treasurer.

25 years ago


Sixteen Hendrix College students from Faulkner County made all A’s in the 1987 fall term. They are: Robert Bryan Benafield, Carla Michele Brann, Deborah Ruth Bruce, Michael Mohr Clark, Laura Joy Clough, Duke Raymond Marr, Sarah Kate Meriweather, Heidi Elizabeth Mills, Luke Joseph Moix, James Randall Pate, Paul Andrew Smith, Kelly Sue Terry, Veronica Carol Thessing, Robert Thomas VanHook, Michele Kimberly Wilson and Stephanie Lynn McKay.