75 years ago


The Rev. D.E. Steely of Calico Rock, recently named pastor of the Second Baptist Church of Conway, will fill the local pulpit for the first time tomorrow. Mr. Steely will preach at 11 a.m. and 7:30 p.m.

He expects to move his family here shortly. A daughter is now enrolled in Central College.

50 years ago


Theo J. Hiegel, of Conway, was elected president of the Quapaw Area Council of the Boy Scouts of America last night at the annual Appreciation Banquet at Robinson Auditorium in Little Rock.

Ward Goodman, of Little Rock, was named commissioner of the group.

Hiegel is a former recipient of the Silver Beaver Award for Scout work.

Rep. Wilbur D. Mills was principal speaker.

25 years ago


Skip and Mary Watkins, of Austin, Texas, are parents of twins, Melanie Joy and Scott Monroe, born Tuesday (Jan. 19, 1988) in Austin. Melanie Joy weighed 7 pounds, 7 ounces, and Scott Monroe weighed 8 pounds, 2 ounces. Grandparents are Willis and Delores Watkins on Conway and the late Mr. and Mrs. Bert Oxford of Fayetteville. The couple have another child, Laura, 4.

10 years ago


St. Joseph quelled a frenzied fourth quarter comeback by Southside of Bee Branch, edging the Hornets by a deceptively wide margin, 46-37, Tuesday night.

Nick Nabholz led St. Joseph with 13 points. Tommy Johnson scored 10, and Jason Fleming, who was in foul trouble most of the second half, added eight.

Alvin Elliot scored eight to lead Southside. Jon Hutto had seven, and Cotton added eight.