75 years ago


Two Conway young women have been elected to teach in the schools at Stuttgart for the 1939-40 session, according to a recent announcement by the Stuttgart school board.

Miss Frances Moore, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Carl E. Moore, will teach third grade work.

Miss Marjorie Clark, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. H.L. Clark will teach fifth grade work.

50 years ago


Miss Ivah Kuykendall of Conway was elected vice president of the Arkansas Department of the American Legion Auxiliary at a convention Sunday at Little Rock.

Also attending the meeting from Conway were Miss Claudia Kuykendall, Miss Jewell Lasley and Mrs. Ernest Baskin.

25 years ago


Susan Howarth, 36, of Conway was named today as executive director of the Arkansas Educational Television Network by the Arkansas Educational Television Commission.

Ms. Howarth, who has been associate director of the network since September, had assumed the responsibilities of executive director in November when Donovan J. "Don" Rinker resigned.

10 years ago


The Mayflower School Board accepted Superintendent Mark Crowder’s resignation Monday night and promoted Assistant Superintendent Rhonda Bradford to interim superintendent for 2004-05.

She will also keep her duties as assistant superintendent.

Crowder had been Mayflower superintendent for three years.