The National 4-H Council recently held its second 4-H Congressional Breakfast on Capitol Hill. Faulkner County 4-H member, Travis Clark, was one of five Arkansas youth in attendance and one of a total of 255 attendees, which included 19 state Senators and Representatives, Cooperative Extension leaders, USDA representatives, and 4-H youth from across the nation.

The event provided an opportunity for 4-H youth leaders from across the nation to share the impact of the 4-H program with members of Congress. 

In addition to meeting decision makers from around the county, Arkansas 4-H youth had a special opportunity to visit with US Congressman and 4-H Alumni, John Boozeman. Later the 4-H delegates and their chaperones, Marion County Agriculture Agent, Brian See and Carroll County Interim Staff Chair, Leadra Martin joined another Arkansas delegation representing the Joint Council of Extension Professionals.  

University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture County Agents including: Sherri Sanders, White County; Jerri Lephiew, Columbia County; Amy Simpson, Clark County and two Specialists, Lisa Washburn and Keith Cleek were visiting the Capitol as a part of the Public Issues Leadership Development Council Conference (PILD).

The delegation had the opportunity to visit with Congressional staff members from French Hill, Steve Womack, Bruce Westerman, Rick Crawford, U.S. Sen. John Boozman and U.S. Sen. Tom Cotton’s offices.    

Together the 4-H and PILD delegation personally visited with Rep. Crawford; Rep. Womack and Sen. Cotton. The Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service is an equal opportunity/equal access/affirmative action institution.