Since 2005, the Agricultural Abandoned Pesticide Program has overseen the collection of 3,646,397 pounds of unwanted pesticide in counties across Arkansas.

Participation in collection events is free and anonymous to farmers and other non-industrial landowners.

The Agricultural Abandoned Pesticide Program is administered by the Arkansas Agriculture Department’s State Plant Board.

“Abandoned Pesticide Collection events are an important offering for our farmers and landowners because they have few other options for disposing of unwanted pesticides. These efforts prevent unused pesticides from becoming environmental health hazards,” Agri Program Manager Jason Robertson said.

Commonly collected items include old or outdated pesticides such as calcium arsenate, 2,4,5-T, sodium cyanide, lindane, and chlordane, as well as registered pesticides that are unusable because they have been exposed to the elements or have been held over from previous growing seasons such as glyphosate products and 2, 4-D.

By 2019, pesticide collection events will have taken place in every county in the state. As sites are confirmed, a list of locations and dates by county will be available, here. Counties to host upcoming sites for collection events include:

• Spring 2018: Mississippi, Crittenden, St. Francis, Lawrence, Jackson, Woodruff and Monroe.

• Fall 2018: Arkansas, Desha, Chicot, Ashley, Drew, Lincoln, Lonoke, Jefferson, Prairie and Bradley.

• Spring 2019: Fulton, Sharp, Randolph, Perry, Independence, Izard, Cleburne, White, Faulkner and Pulaski.

• Fall 2019: Crawford, Franklin, Sebastian, Scott, Logan, Johnson, Yell, Pope, Conway and Van Buren.

The Agricultural Abandoned Pesticide Program is conducted in cooperation with the University of Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service, Arkansas Farm Bureau, Arkansas Natural Resources Commission, and Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality.

Representatives from these agencies make up the Abandoned Pesticide Advisory Board. This board selects county sites for collection events. Priority watersheds are a large consideration factor for the advisory board in choosing counties/regions for site collection.

Contact Jason Robertson at 501-225-1598 or with questions about upcoming collection events.