LITTLE ROCK—The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program listed six Arkansas properties—including the Lines Cemetery near Preston in Faulkner County—on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places when it met April 4.

The board also recommended 18 Arkansas properties in 13 counties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places.

Lines Cemetery is located at the junction of Round Mountain and Scenic Hill roads.

“Lines Cemetery has been referred to by several different names throughout its history,” according to the National Register nomination. “Its oldest name was Line Cemetery, named after the Line family that donated the land for the local burial spot. This eventually became Line’s Cemetery and then today Lines Cemetery. It has also been known as Lions Cemetery, most likely due to a typographical mistake. Due to its location near to other early settlements and the families buried within, the cemetery has also been referred to as Barley Cemetery, Gold Creek Cemetery, and Preston Cemetery. In 1977 a title to the cemetery was entrusted to the trustees of the ‘Lions Cemetery’.”

The board also listed Petit Jean Mountain Cemetery near Winrock in Conway County, Dierks Lumber Company Building at Mountain Pine in Garland County, Schumaker Naval Ammunition Depot Laundry Building at East Camden in Calhoun County, Ellis Building at Fayetteville and Harrell Cemetery near Cincinnati in Washington County on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically significant properties that do not meet National Register requirements.

Properties recommended for nomination to the National Register are Mosaic Templars State Temple and Fulk-Arkansas Democrat Building at Little Rock and the Carmichael House in the Landmark community in Pulaski County; Cleveland Arms at Hot Springs in Garland County; Washington Street Historic District Boundary Increase at Camden in Ouachita County; Schumaker Naval Ammunition Depot Barracks Buildings and Schumaker Naval Ammunition Depot Administration Building at East Camden in Calhoun County; Goodwin Field Administration Building at El Dorado in Union County; Mount Salem Church and School near Paris in Logan County; C.A. Stuck and Sons Lumber Office Building at Jonesboro in Craighead County; Nevada County Courthouse at Prescott in Nevada County; Lockesburg Gymnasium at Lockesburg in Sevier County; Eureka Springs Cemetery at Eureka Springs in Carroll County; Carpenter Building at Gentry in Benton County; Deepwood House at Fayetteville in Washington County; Prairie Grove Commercial Historic District and North Mock Street Commercial Historic District at Prairie Grove in Washington County, and Farm #266 (Johnny Cash Boyhood Home) at Dyess in Mississippi County.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.