The Conway Noon Lions Club hosted its 33rd annual Golden Apple Award Ceremony to honor local educators Tuesday at Antioch Baptist Church.

Twenty-three teachers across Conway schools were acknowledged during the event.

“We really do appreciate all that you do for the students in Conway and we are very proud that we are able to do this,” Lions Club President Debbie Townsend said.

The 2018 Golden Apple Educator of the Year recipients were: Charlotte Moix from St. Joseph Elementary School; Jennifer Fullerton from St. Joseph Middle School; and Christen Reyes from St. Joseph High School; Kathy Irons from Conway Christian Primary School; Lori Beth Rodgers from Conway Christian Elementary School; Mary Nabholz from Conway Christian Junior High; and Shandi Shelton from Conway Christian High School; Conway School District’s Reta Scroggs from Sallie Cone Preschool; Nicole Loftis from Ida Burns Elementary; Tami Popham from Woodrow Cummins Elementary; Katie Kirkland from Carolyn Lewis Elementary; Allison Foster from Florence Mattison; Shannon Riner from Julia Lee Moore; Alisa Paladino from Ellen Smith Elementary; Kristy Bentley from Jim Stone Elementary; Jana Hedgecock from Marguerite Vann Elementary; Cheryl Bing from Bob and Betty Courtway Middle School; Kaye Kaye Dell from Ruth Doyle Middle School; Tanya Easterwood from Ray and Phyllis Simon Middle School; Kerry Hymas from Carl Stuart Middle School; Beth Fulks from Conway Junior High School; and William Richardson from Conway High School.

Conway Superintendent Greg Murry also separately honored Theodore Jones Elementary’s Randi House, who went on to be named the 2018 District of the Year and, eventually, took the title of 2018 Arkansas State Teacher of the Year.

House is in Washington D.C. this week to talk policy and education with the nation’s lawmakers and more.

“Let me explain why she’s not here today,” Murry said, proudly. “She has an appointment with the president of the United States and, I’m sorry, but that sort of trumped everything else.”

The room was engulfed in laughter due to Murry’s unintentional pun and the superintendent took a second before he continued.

He said thank you on behalf of every student in the district to the Lion’s Club.

“Thank you for doing this and honoring the most important people in our city, our teachers,” Murry said.

During the ceremony, the Lions Club also acknowledged it’s 2018 scholarship recipients — St. Joseph Catholic School’s Caroline Hambuchen, Conway Christian School’s Kendra Lea and Conway High School’s Brooke Church — and the peace poster contest winners including first place winner Katelyn Conrad, second place winner Dru Davis and third place winner Sydney Hammond, all from Carl Stuart Middle School.