The Phi Bet Kappa Society’s Beta of Arkansas chapter at Hendrix College recently inducted twenty-seven seniors on April 25.

According to a Hendrix representative, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest and largest academic honor society, with more than half a million members located at more than 280 colleges and universities; its mission is to promote the liberal arts and sciences, to recognize academic excellence and to foster freedom of thought and expression.

“Phi Beta Kappa is a distinct honor afforded to only ten percent of a graduating class and only at institutions that have passed the rigorous standards set by the national office of Phi Beta Kappa to house a chapter,” Jennifer Peszka, professor of psychology and secretary of the chapter at Hendrix, said. “The students’[s] commitment to excellence throughout their undergraduate work won their acceptance to the society and they now join the ranks of 17 U.S. [p]residents, 40 Supreme Court [j]ustices and more than 140 Nobel Laureates in this unique honor society.”

The 2018 Phi Beta Kappa inductees at Hendrix include:

• Braxton Fisher Anderson

• William G. Berry

• Benjamin Kent Border

• Mara J. Campbell

• Calista Zoe Corwyn

• Elizabeth C. Draper

• Sara Marie Dyslin

• Elizabeth Breann Forbes

• Emma L. Gaither

• Megan Rachelle Hunter

• Eric M. Huynh

• Brandon Thomas Leding

• Christian René Leus

• Rebecca Joyce Maeder

• Trang Thi Quynh Nguyen

• Lauren Elizabeth Petrisin

• Lena Pham

• Lexus L. Raney

• Emily Joy Seminara

• Anna Borisivna Sharabura

• Leah JoAnn Smith

• Joy Elizabeth Spence

• Claire E. Turkal

• Sarah Faith Walker

• Yuxiu Wang

• Kathleen Ann Wendover

• Laela Zaidi

Hendrix College is a private, liberal arts college in Conway, Arkansas. Founded in 1876, the college has been affiliated with the United Methodist Church since 1884.

To learn more, visit