The Arkansas Educational Television Network has announced winners from “Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase” in the Thea Foundation Young Filmmakers Scholarship competition for high school seniors and the Arkansas Historic Places Film Prize.

“Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase,” now in its 12th year, highlights the creativity and talent of the state's kindergarten through 12th grade students. In addition to possible broadcast on AETN, the competition gives Arkansas student filmmakers the opportunity for streaming on, scholarship and prize competitions, and screenings, including the Student Filmmakers Showcase and the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival (HSDFF).

The Thea Foundation has awarded graduating seniors four $2,500 scholarships in the categories of screenwriting, directing, cinematography and editing.

Winners of the 2018 Young Filmmakers Scholarship competition are:

• Directing – Rhianydd Hylton of Bentonville High School for “Mirror Mirror.”

• Editing – Scarlett Gooch of Lakeside High School (Hot Springs) for “Delucas.”

• Cinematography – Chandler Shewmaker of Bentonville High School for “Spring Valley Anglers Trout Story.”

• Scriptwriting – Sophia Thomas of Eureka Springs High School for “The Copsicle Caper.”

To compete for scholarships, seniors were required to guarantee that they were the sole producer of the selected category. The Thea scholarship competition is unique in that it is open to students who attend public, private, charter or home schools, as well as those who have completed their GED. Scholarships will be awarded to the student's institution of choice, regardless of planned major, GPA or test scores.

In partnership with the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program and the Arkansas Humanities Council, fifth through 12th grade students, including homeschooled students, were able to compete for the Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize, which only accepts documentaries about any historic site in the state that is at least 50 or more years old. Prizes include: grand prize, $700; first place, $200; second place, $200; third place, $200; and fourth place, $200.

Winners in the Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize are:

• Grand prize – “Rush Historic District” by Carolyn Seglem of Jonesboro High School.

• First prize – “Where the Best Milk Grows” by Chase Hartsell of Lakeside High School.

• Second prize – “Berry on the Square” by Ian Linn, Noah Chacon, Collin Schultz and Jordan Giacalone of Fayetteville High School.

• Third prize – “Wired to the Past: A Vision Into the Future” by Bella Warner, Obediah Kimmel, Harrison Bradford, Owen Hicks and Luis Ayala of Fayetteville High School.

• Fourth prize – “David O. Dodd” by Anna Wiener of Jonesboro High School.

• Honorable mention – “Ghosts of Greenwood: Memories of Greenwood Elementary” by Logan Bailey of Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences & Arts (Hot Springs).

• Honorable mention – “Little Rock YMCA” by Avery Barnett of The Academies at Jonesboro High School.

“Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase” will air on AETN in September and October. AETN will host youth filmmaking workshops and screenings of student films at the HSDFF in October.

AETN “Student Selects” partners include: Thea Foundation; the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of the Arkansas Department of Heritage; the Arkansas Humanities Council; and the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival.

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving cultural resources.

The Thea Foundation is a nonprofit, public foundation founded in 2001 by the parents of Thea Kay Leopoulos, Linda and Paul David Leopoulos. The founders and board of directors have adopted the mission of carrying Thea’s legacy forward through advocating the importance of art in the development of youth through educational and promotional activities and to encourage individual participation in art through scholarship, partnership and other programs.