Three Conway residents selected to University Scholars program

The University of Central Arkansas has announced that 30 students have been selected as the inaugural class for the University Scholars program.

Among the 30 students are three Conway natives, Audrey Ferrari, Olivia Huett, and Lindsey Witting.

University Scholars students will take a common course in the fall of the freshman year titled “On Expertise: The Necessity of Scholarship and Leadership.”

Each remaining semester in the freshman and sophomore years, students will have the opportunity to take honors-sections of university core courses that will have smaller enrollments, be discussion-based and will focus on developing a specialized skill set. In the junior and senior year, students will complete an honors capstone project rooted in undergraduate research or creative work.

All members of the incoming class were selected using a holistic admissions process that factors in the applicant’s academic performance, service, and leadership potential.

The pilot class of 2018 has an average high school GPA above 4.0 and an average ACT score of 28.

Acceptance into the University Scholars Program comes with an academic stipend, access to a living-learning community in Jefferson W. Farris Honors Hall, and participation in a unique curriculum with ample opportunities for service learning, project-based education, collaborative work, and undergraduate research.

“We believe the skills students will get out of this program are the type of cutting-edge skills that students need in order to prepare them for graduate school and their future professions,” said Dr. Patricia Smith, Honors College interim dean.

Hendrix alumna to be inducted into Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame

The Arkansas Women’s Hall of Fame (AWHOF) has announced that Mary Steenburgen will be inducted into the 2018 class. This year’s inductees include eight women and one organization who have made significant contributions to the state and their respective fields, and stand as positive examples for women everywhere.

The inductees will be honored at a special ceremony on Thursday, Aug. 30, at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock.

Academy Award winner Mary Steenburgen has appeared in over 60 films. She is known for her work in the films Melvin and howard, What’s eating Gilbert grape, Step brothers, and television shows “Justified”, in which she played the diabolical character Katherine Hale. She has also recently appeared in “Orange is the New Black” and “Curb Your Enthusiasm”.

Mary currently stars alongside Diane Keaton, Jane Fonda and Candice Bergen in Paramount Pictures’ Book Club, which was released in theaters on May 18, 2018. For 4 years, Mary starred alongside Will Forte in FOX’s critically-acclaimed comedy series, “The Last Man On Earth”.

Additional television credits include “30 Rock”, “Bored to Death”, and “Blunt Talk”. Additional film credits include Goin’ South, Time after Time, Ragtime, Philadelphia, Back to the Future 3, Cross Creek, Midsummer Night’s Sex Comedy, Miss Firecracker, The proposal, Elf, Dirty Girl (for which she co- wrote the song, Rainbird, with Melissa Manchester), Four Christmases, The Help, and Last Vegas.

Partial theater credits include Holiday (London’s Old Vic, directed by Lindsay Anderson), Candida, Marvin’s Room, The Beginning of August, The Exonerated.  Mary is proud to be a company member of New York’s Atlantic Theater.
Mary is a songwriter for Universal Music Publishing Group. She has collaborated with many acclaimed songwriters including Matraca Berg, Troy Verges, Jeremy Spillman, Luke Laird, Lori McKenna, Caitlyn Smith, Lucie Silvas, John Osborne and many others. She is currently writing the music for the animated film version of the book The Underneath and wrote the end credit song for the upcoming feature film Wild Roses.