Seven new justices of the peace will join the Faulkner County Quorum for its organizational meeting at 7 p.m. Tuesday in Courtroom A of the Faulkner County Courthouse.

The meeting is open to the public.

JPs Rose Roland of District 5, Tyler Lachowsky of District 6, Tyler Pearson of District 7, JT Toal of District 8, Kris Kendrick of District 9, Andy Shock of District 10 and Zach Cates of District 13 were sworn in on Jan. 1.

“The Justices organize as a Quorum Court body on the first Monday excepting holidays, after the beginning of the Justices' term in office,” Act 742 of the Arkansas Constitution, including amendement 55, states. “Thereafter, the justices shall assemble each calendar month in their respective counties to perform the duties of Quorum Court, except that more frequent meetings may be required by ordinance. The time and place of the initial assembly of the justices shall be designated by written notice of the County Judge. The Justices, there after shall meet as a Quorum Court at a regular time and place specified by ordinance.”

Faulkner County Judge Jim Baker will re-appoint Coroner Jessica Thorn and appoint a library board member during the organizational meeting. He may also appoint JPs to committees – the Budget and Finance Committee, the Courts and Public Safety Committee, the Infrastructure Committee and the Personnel Committee.

“The Quorum Court is the ‘voice of the people’ concerning the County issues in their districts,” County Attorney David Hogue said. “The Quorum court can vote to make ordinances or resolutions that pertain to County issues i.e. Road, Budget & Finance, and Public Safety. To address the Quorum Court with your concern, you should contact the Justice of the Peace for your district.”

Also Tuesday, JPs will discuss an appropriation ordinance related to salaries.

The quorum court meets at 7 p.m. the third Tuesday of the month unless otherwise specified. For more information, visit