The University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton inducted 11 students from Faulkner County into the Beta Eta Sigma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society of community and junior colleges, during a ceremony inside the college’s Fine Arts Auditorium on April 12.

“As hallmarks of our efforts to earn this distinction, our members engage in not only our chapter, but also serve as models in academics, in service, and in engagement both on and off campus,” Mathew Herrman, a UACCM speech instructor and chapter adviser, said. “Our members work together to set and achieve goals that prove we are not just ‘book smart,’ but fully committed to making needed changes to improve the community we serve.”

The mission statement of Phi Theta Kappa is “to recognize academic achievement of college students and to provide opportunities for them to grow as scholars and leaders.” To become a member, students must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework that may be applied to an associate degree while maintaining at least a 3.5 GPA.

New Phi Theta Kappa members are listed here with their hometowns:

Faulkner County

Benjamin Cathcart, Mayflower.

Mia Chantha, Conway.

Bruce Davis, Conway.

Kristine Davis, Conway.

Amy Gericke, Conway.

Richard Junyor, Greenbrier.

Chase Knight, Vilonia.

Courtney Martin, Conway.

Heather McDonald, Vilonia.

Greg Schleiff, Conway.

Christine Stewart, Conway.