Students at The Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts were recognized for their academic achievements for the 2018-19 year at the annual Honors Day Convocation held May 20.

Students were recognized by the school’s Humanities, Mathematics and Science departments. Those earning recognition at the awards ceremony were:

Humanities Department

Outstanding Graphic Arts Student: Junior Nina Thomas of Hot Springs

Outstanding Visual Arts Student: Junior Sydney Harris of North Little Rock

Outstanding Music Student: Junior A.J. Navarro of Hot Springs

Outstanding American Studies Student: Junior Haven Whitney of Searcy

Outstanding U.S. History Student: Senior Dinah Everton of Hot Springs

Outstanding World History Student: Junior Emily Smith of Cabot

Outstanding Social Science Student: Senior Elizabeth Byrd of Little Rock

Outstanding Humanities Senior: Dinah Everton of Hot Springs

Outstanding Humanities Junior: Chloe Biermann of Fayetteville

Outstanding French 1 Student: Junior Sophia McClain of Van Buren

Outstanding Intermediate French Student: Senior Simon Burris of Flippin

Outstanding Advanced French Student: Senior Morgan Russell of Wilson

Outstanding Intermediate Spanish Student: Senior Jared Block of Judsonia

Outstanding Advanced Spanish Student: Junior Nina Thomas of Hot Springs

Outstanding Mandarin 2 Student: Noah Raby of Newport

Outstanding Japanese 1 Student: Junior Tam Woolfork of Marion

Outstanding Japanese 2 Student: Senior Chloe Cotabish of Conway

The Dan Benton Award for Outstanding Humanities Student: Senior Dinah Everton of Hot Springs

Mathematics Department

Most Improved Mathematics Student: Senior Zach Klappenbach of Jacksonville

Outstanding Junior Mathematics Student: Tristan Eoff of Little Rock and Victoria Hwang of Maumelle

Outstanding Senior Mathematics Student: Mary Jia of Stuttgart, Callen Gast of Cabot (Nichols Outstanding Female Mathematics Student Award), and Noah Raby of Newport (Connor Outstanding Male Mathematics Student Award

Outstanding Junior Computer Science Student: Karsen Beck of Maumelle and Trinity Robinson of Fayetteville

Outstanding Senior Computer Science Student: Noah Raby of Newport and William Shaver of North Litte Rock

Science Department

Outstanding Junior Biology Student: Alexx Weaver of Lonoke

Outstanding Junior Chemistry Student: Cameron Elliott of Hot Springs

Outstanding Junior Physics Student: Jesse Easley of Conway

Outstanding Junior Earth Science Student: Howard Orlina of Little Rock

Outstanding Junior Engineering Student: Roriana Burgess of Augusta

Outstanding Senior Biology Student: Elijah Clanton of Fayetteville

Outstanding Senior Chemistry Student: Mary Jia of Stuttgart

Outstanding Senior Physics Student: Noah Raby of Newport

Outstanding Senior Earth Science Student: Luke Nester of Hot Springs