The May meeting of the Progressive Club met at the home of Mrs. JoAnne Henderson. Members made desserts and salads that were enjoyed by all.

Polly Bruckner announced that Kristy Simon received the Club Scholarship, presented by Beverley Freiley.

Also, Mrs. Bruckner presented a silver tray to outgoing President, Mrs. Ola Hawks.

After the meeting, outgoing President, Mrs. Hawks installed new officers 2012-2013; President Beverly Freiley; 1st Vice President Connie Westbrook; 2nd Vice President Wendelene Smith; Secretary Judie Stuart; Corresponding Secretary JoAnne Henderson; Treasurer Polly Bruckner; Reporter/Historian Betty Ramsey; and Parliamentarian Ola Hawks.

Eleven members were present.

Laureate Alpha Omega chapter of Beta Sigma Phi met May 8th at the home of Florene Phipps; 11 members were present. Following the BSP Grace, the hostess served vegetables and dip, fresh-from-the-garden salad, homemade lasagna, green beans and fresh strawberry pie for dessert.

The business meeting was called to order by President Janet Jones. Mary Williams thanked the group for presenting this year’s scrapbook to her.

Our Woman of the Year, Florene Phipps, will be attending the annual state convention in Hot Springs in June and advised that anyone wishing to attend should send in their registration.

Some of our members represented the chapter as volunteers at the annual Women Can Run/Walk race activities this past weekend.

Everyone agreed that the annual Founder’s Day awards dinner at the Hole in the Wall restaurant was a success and outstanding expenses for the event should be turned in.

Our secret sister revealing meeting was held May 15th at the home of Sissy Moore. An executive board meeting and membership brunch was scheduled for June 16th at the home of Florene Phipps. Degree rituals for Peggy Hahn and Judy Schultz will be held at that time.

Officers for the new year were installed as follows: President Vernelle Crews; 1st Vice-President Florene Phipps; 2nd Vice-President Mary Jane Moix; Corresponding Secretary Judy Schultz; Recording Secretary Bert Lackey; Treasurer Pam Rawls; and Extension Officer Sondra Pugh.

The Sunshine gift was won by Peggy Hahn.

This year’s closing meeting was held at the home of Pat Williams on Thursday, May 10, with all members present. Upon our arrival appetizers of chips and dip were served.

After a delicious Mexican meal was enjoyed, the Opening Ritual was recited and business was discussed. The new officers were inducted into their offices by the out-going president, Sandra Holmes. New officers for 2012-2013 are: President, Peggy Hill; Vice President, Deloris Bennett; Recording Secretary, Pat Marshall; Corresponding Secretary, Sarah Rivers; and Treasurer, Mary Alice Holmes. Committees were formed and sign up sheets for meetings completed. Dessert of chocolate cake, ice cream, and coffee were served prior to the revealing of secret sisters and new ones acquired. The sunshine gift was won by Sandra. The meeting was adjourned with the members repeating the Closing Ritual and Mizpah.

Cadron Post Chapter, National Society Daughters of the American Revolution, met April 21 at the home of Carolyn Frazier in Vilonia. Shirley Barham and Suzann Waggoner served as co-hostess.

Regent Carol Rolf introduced prospective member Cindy Phillips.

Rolf conducted the opening ritual with Frazier acting as chaplain. Nancy Rodwell led the Pledge of Allegiance and Jo Kilduff led the American’s Creed. Waggoner led the singing of the "Star Spangled Banner" and Rolf led the Preamble to the Constitution.

Waggoner read the President General’s Message. Fern Taylor gave the National Defense Report. In the absence of Mary Coleman, secretary, Rolf read the minutes of the February meeting, which were approved as read. Treasurer Kristina Ward gave the treasurer’s report, which was accepted.

In the absence of Sharon Lessenberry, chairman of the Women’s Issues Committee, Rolf administered a quiz regarding women in American History; Lessenberry will give a prize to the winner at the May meeting. Nancy Rodwell, chairman of the American Indians Committee, gave an Indian Minute, and Waggoner, chairman of the Conservation Committee, gave a Conservation Minute.

Members donated coffee for the VA Clinic in Conway, soup labels and box tops for education, and Coups for Troops.

Rolf distributed individual awards that were announced at the State Conference in March and congratulated Jo Kilduff, who was elected State Registrar at the state meeting.

Rolf asked that members contribute to care packages for the troops serving in Afghanistan. She also announced she had presented two awards to seniors in the Army Reserve Officer Training Corps programs at Conway High School-West and the University of Central Arkansas.

Waggoner presented the program on conservation.

Members voted to send a memorial to the National Society in memory of Vernon Lyons, who died recently. He was the husband of member Cheryl Lyons and the son-in-law of member Pat Christensen.

Following the benediction given by Frazier, members enjoyed refreshments prepared by the co-hostesses.