Laureate Alpha Omega chapter of Beta Sigma Phi met recently at the home of Sissy and James Moore with 13 members present. Our host grilled giant burgers and our hostess provided homemade potato salad, baked beans and other burger trimmings.

The business meeting was called to order by President Vernelle Crews who led the Opening Ritual. Mary Williams reported that she, Vernelle Crews and Bert Lackey volunteered on Thursday afternoon and Friday evening for the Women Run Arkansas race.

The chapter decided to make a donation to Salem Methodist Church in memory of Vernon Lyons, the husband of a former member, who passed away recently.

The executive board will have a planning meeting at the home of Florene Phipps on June 16. Following the meeting the executive board will provide brunch for all chapter members. Sign up sheets for meetings and programs for the new year will be filled out at this time.

Following the business meeting everyone had desserts of Italian cream cake and/or chocolate cheesecake and opened gifts as secret sister identities were revealed. The group then drew names for secret sisters for the 2012-13 sorority year.

Everyone enjoyed looking at scrapbooks from the ‘80s and ‘90s which were provided by Donna Spurrier, a former chapter president.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned with members repeating the Closing Ritual and Mizpah.

It’s been so long since we have written it’s hard to know where to start.

First we want to thank everyone that helped with our annual fundraiser April 21. The spaghetti dinner and silent auction was even better than last year. We especially want to thank the Jr. High School for letting us have it there and Mrs. Burgess and her students for their help. The entertainers did a wonderful job and we appreciate everyone that donated items for the auction or helped in any way.

We have lost four of our seniors in the last few months; Bud Everett, Modenia Smith, Helen Tucker and Faye Bell Kelso. Faye Bell was a former member of the staff here. We extend sympathy to their families.

Erma Miller hasn’t been able to come to the center lately because of a broken ankle. She had to have surgery again this week. We sure miss her and Frank and hope they are soon able to come back.

Jesse Johnston has been gone the last two weeks visiting his daughter in Michigan. We miss Buddy because he is a regular at the domino table.

Barbara Weaver fell recently and broke her wrist. We hope for her a speedy recovery.

We all plan to go to Ray and Omerine Daley’s next weekend for a potluck dinner. The Daleys have us at least once a year and we appreciate them because we all enjoy going to their house.

Members of the Conway Civic League gathered at noon in the Fireplace Room at Conway Country Club for their last meeting of the 2011-2012 club year. The theme for the day was "Simply Official," which referred to the installation of new officers as the program for the day.

Decorations carried out a summer theme and the round tables were enhanced with seashore vacation items including beach towels, sand buckets and shovels, watering cans, beach toys and miniature flags.

Hostesses were Bobbie Clark, Sylvia Meriwether, Mae Williams, Cathy Ketcheside, Laurie Smith and Faye Hunnicutt, who offered a prayer for the meal. The menu consisted of chicken salad, fruit medley, Key lime pie, and a beverage varitey.

President Marsha McClanahan convened the meeting and called on former president Rosanne Johnson to lead the Collect.

Secretary Nancy Williams called the roll and announced that 31 members were present. She then read the minutes of the April meeting which were approved.

Survey forms pertaining to suggestions and comments concerning next year’s programs were distrubited by Sharon Lessenberry.

Members with summers birthdays were named and recognized as a group.

The installation of officers for the 2012-2013 club year was presided over by Charlotte Nabholz who called them to the front, outlined their duties, and duly installed the following: president, Sharon Lessenberry; vice president, Barbara Satterfield; recording secretary, Nancy Williams; corresponding secretary, Lulu Thompson; treasurer, Sandra Hudson; historian, Beckye Ezell; reporter, Betty Courtway; and parliamentarian, Charlotte Nabholz.

Charlotte then presented each officer with a gift of frost flex glasses and beverage napkins.

Sharon Lessenberry called President McClanahan to the podium and announced a gift from the club honoring her service with a monetary donation to the City of Hope ministry and its founders, Philip and Nicole Fletcher.

Following tradition the motion to adjourn was written by Pat Ott but was delivered in her absence by President McClanahan. The members bade a fond farewell to President McClanahan as she and her husband, Lowell, will be relocating to Florida soon. The group then recessed for the summer months.

The Alpha Iota Chapter of Kappa Kappa Iota met recently for their May meeting at The Fish House. This was the last meeting of the chapter for this school year.

Clara Rose Simon presented outgoing president, Linda Wall, a spring flower arrangement as an appreciation gift for the excellent job she did serving as the chapter leader.

Brittany Russell presented each Kappa Sister a picture portfolio of this year’s activities. The group decided to send one of their members, Terri Seiter, who has been sick, a love offering.

Hostesses were Sue Gates, Sara Andrews and Ms. Wall.

Ms. Russell received the door prize from the hostesses — a Woodwick candle. Ms. Simon won the raffle item, a decorative box.

The officers for the 2012-13 year were installed by Ms. Wall as follows: President, Amber Horn; Vice President, Tricia Moix; Secretary, Brittany Russell; Treasurer, Clara Rose Simon; Empathy, Doretta Bright; Song Leader, Danette Fiddler; Contact, Sue Gates; and Historian, Amy Malik.

The next meeting of the chapter will be in August. The date, time, and location will be announced later.