Beta Sigma Phi Laureate Alpha Omega

Laureate Alpha Omega chapter of Beta Sigma Phi met May 14 at the home of Florene Phipps; 10 members were present. Following the BSP Grace, the hostess served fresh-from-the-garden salad, homemade lasagna, green beans with soft drinks and wine.

The business meeting was called to order by President Vernelle Crews who led the Opening Ritual. Judy Schultz, service chair, read a thank you note for our contributions to the Women’s Shelter of Central Arkansas.

Everyone enjoyed the annual Founder’s Day awards dinner at Mike’s Place. Our chapter won first place awards for our service, social and ways and means projects and second place for our scrapbook.

The Ritual of Jewels was held for Linda Alverson and we welcome her as our newest chapter member.

Debbie Davis read the installation service for our 2013-14 officers as follows: President Vernelle Crews; 1st Vice-President Florene Phipps; 2nd Vice-President Mary Jane Moix; Corresponding Secretary Judy Schultz; Recording Secretary Bert Lackey; Treasurer Pam Rawls; and Extension Officer Sondra Pugh.

Following the business meeting the hostess served dessert of fresh strawberry pie. The Sunshine gift was won by Debbie Davis.

Conway Civic League

Containers of brilliant red roses greeted the 35 members of Conway Civic League as they gathered in the large dining room of Conway Country Club at noon on Wednesday, May 15, for the last meeting of the club year. Rose petals accented the round floral tablecloths complete with bright blue napkins.

The menu included cream of artichoke soup, chicken salad on a croissant, a fruit medley of cantaloupe, honeydew melon, fresh pineapple and grape clusters with a dessert of cheesecake. President Sharon Lessenberry called on Marion Baker to offer a blessing for the meal.

Hostesses were Beneva Farris, Martha McConnell, Susan Standridge, Eve Torian and Meredith Wilbourn. President Lessenberry recognized them with thanks for the menu choice and for the decorations.

After the meal, the group was led in the recitation of the club Collect. Betty Courtway, subbing for secretary Nancy Williams, read minutes of the April Meeting which were approved. She then called the roll. Sandra Hudson reported the balance in the club’s treasury.

Membership chair Judy Holman read short bios of two ladies who were recommended for one vacancy on the roll. After a secret ballot, it was announced that Cheryl Weldon would be the new member.

Vice president and program chair Barbara Satterfield distributed survey forms to ascertain members’ interest in program topics for the coming year.

Corresponding secretary Lulu Thompson read thank you notes from Debra Robinson, director of the Senior Citizens Center, from Conway Interfaith Clinic director Kittie Aaron and also from Soul Food Café and Faulkner County Humane Society. These groups were the recipients of Civic League’s community needs donations.

President Lessenberry then introduced Parliamentarian Charlotte Nabholz who called the incoming officers to the front of the room and then officiated at the installation ceremony. She thanked the group for their willingness to serve in leadership positions for the club year 2013-14 and also briefly outlined the duties of each officer. Each was presented a personalized luggage tag.

"Happy Birthday" was sung to May honorees Barbara Satterfield and Charlotte Nabholz.

Pat Ott gave the motion to adjourn which was seconded by Faye Hunnicutt with approval by all.

Beta Sigma Phi Laureate Nu

Laureate Nu chapter of Beta Sigma Phi enjoyed a delightful pool side meeting at the home of Barbara Money on Tuesday, May 14, with 13 members present. President Debbie Creswell called the meeting to order with members reciting the Opening Ritual. Roll was taken and previous minutes were read by Recording Secretary Carolyn Jones. Ms. Creswell then shared a note from Jolinda Bryant thanking the chapter gifts she received as Laureate Nu’s 2013 Woman of the Year. Barbara Money then gave the treasurer’s report, as well as a Ways and Means summary from the chapter’s recent frozen banana booth at Toad Suck Daze. For the final service project of the sorority year, members brought white elephant items to be donated to the Chenal Valley Rehab Center for use as Bingo prizes. The Scholarship committee reported that the chapter had awarded $500 Toad Suck Banana scholarships to Maria Breeding, St. Joseph graduate; Mallori Wooley, Conway High graduate; and Olivia Meriweather and Andrea Howell, Conway Christian graduates. The meeting was adjourned with members repeating the Closing Ritual.

Installation of officers for the 2013-14 sorority was then held: Barbara Money, president; Anna Boudreaux, vice-president; recording secretary, Gena Bishop; treasurer, Susan Childers; and corresponding secretary, Jolinda Bryant.

Refreshments were served by Ms. Money, Lynn Riggins, and Nancy Penny. Sunshine gifts provided by Ms. Money were won by Ms. Creswell and Susan Salter.

The next meeting of the chapter will be the end of the sorority year celebration, 6 p.m. Tuesday, May 28, at Branch Out Paint Bar and Boutique. Members will enjoy snacks and painting on canvas.